Database Trials

CNKI: China Knowledge Resource Integrated database
Trial available through 5 June 2012
CNKI is a Chinese-language platform providing access to Chinese Academic Journals full-text database, China Doctoral Dissertations/Masters' Theses full-text database, China Core Newspapers full-text database, China Proceedings of Conferences full-text database and China Yearbooks full-text database. 

The subject coverage includes mathematics, physics, mechanics, astronomy, geography, biology, chemistry, metallurgy, environment, mining, electromechanics, aviation, hydraulic engineering, architecture, energy sources, medicine, hygiene, literature, history, philosophy, politics, military affairs, law, education, social sciences, electronic technology and information science, economics and management.

Access to CNKI is available to on and off-campus users

Feedback would be appreciated and can be submitted here.



SpringerMaterials
Trial available through 30 June 2012

SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. SpringerMaterials also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases and chemical safety data.

SpringerMaterials - The Landolt-Börnstein Database comprises to date:
  • 400 Landolt-Börnstein volumes, 250,000 substances and 1,200,000 citations
  • 44,000 Chemical Safety Documents (REACH Registration, Evaluation, Authorization and Restriction of Chemicals, GHS Globally Harmonized System RoHS Restriction of Hazardous Substances, WEEE Waste from Electrical and Electronic Equipment)
  • The world's largest and most renowned Database on Thermophysical Properties, the subset of the DDBST (Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology) comprising 300,000 data points.
  • Linus Pauling Files, the most comprehensive database on inorganic solid phases comprising 190,000 documents

SpingerMaterials is expanded and updated on a quarterly basis and offers advanced search & navigation functionalities.

Access is available to SpringerMaterials

Feedback is appreciated and can be provided here


SAGE Knowledge - beta version
Trial available through 30 June 2012

SAGE is delighted to announce the development of our platform for eBook delivery:  SAGE Knowledge .

SAGE Knowledge is the ultimate social sciences digital library for students, researchers, and faculty. Launching with more than 2,500 titles, it includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.


The platform allows researchers to cross-search and seamlessly access a wide breadth of must-have SAGE book and reference content from one source. Users will benefit from the following functionality - developed in partnership with faculty, librarians, and students:

  • Online access to 2,500+ titles, including 300+ key reference works

  • User-friendly interface

  • Full text HTML display

  • Book portal pages

  • Table of contents navigation

  • Email Chapter Link and Share features for social sites

  • Ability to easily change text size

  • Chapter print and PDF download options

  • Citation options including export to End Note, RefWorks and other citation manager software

Access to SAGE Knowledge is available on and off-campus

Feedback would be appreciated and can be provided here


Philosopher's Index
Trial available through 18 June 2012

Covering all fifteen fields of the subject, this database contains current and comprehensive research published since 1940, with additional records dating back to 1902. This invaluable resource is considered the most thorough index of journal and book literature on the topic of philosophy.

Content Includes:
• Over 495,000 records from more than 85 countries with content representing 39 languages
• More than 1400 philosophy and interdisciplinary journal titles
• Print and electronic journals, books, anthologies, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews
• Author-written abstracts, many of which are not available in any other reference resource

Access is available via the Ebscohost platform or directly from Philosopher's Index.

Feedback is appreciated and can be provided here


Feedback

To help the Library make decisions about purchasing databases, please let us know what you think of the product. We are interested in response time, journal coverage, percentage of full text articles, design of interface, ease of printing or downloading etc. If you have any feedback regarding trials or have any difficulty using the trials please complete the Feedback form.

Latest content revision: Wednesday, 28 September 2011