Civil engineering
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+concrete +construction
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +concrete +construction +bridge
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Civil engineering
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| Compendex | Bibliographic records of thousands of engineering journals, conferences and technical reports covering engineering and applied science research | Help and tips are available online from the Compendex search screen |
| ENGINE Australian engineering database | Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on Australian engineering information, particularly information published by the Institution of Engineers since 1980 | Online help is available from the ENGINE search screen |
| ASCE publications | Provides access to the American Society of Civil Engineers Research Library which includes journal articles and proceedings published by the ASCE | Online help is available from any screen of the ASCE publications database |
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example soil and seepage
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
soil earth
seepage drainage
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
soil or earth
and
seepage or drainage
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example drain* finds drain, drainage, drained, drains and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- BUBL LINK links to selected internet resources on civil engineering produced by the Bulletin Board for Libraries from the Andersonian Library, Strathclyde University, Scotland
- Intute: Science Engineering & Technology: Engineering links to internet resources in civil engineering with a focus on education and research provided by a network of UK universities and partners
- TechXtra – Engineering, mathematics and computing an initiative of Heriot Watt University TechXtra provides access to information about engineering, mathematics and computing, including websites, industry news, technical reports, full text eprints and teaching and learning resources
- Engineers Australia provides information for engineers and is the national forum for the advancement of engineering in Australia
- Structurae an international database and gallery of structures containing information on works of structural engineering, architecture and construction throughout history
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: ITEE Academic Library Services Team