UniSA Library
| Jump to Content


Business



Starting point for Business

Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews

Key online dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Concise dictionary of business managementProvides definitions of the various terms and new buzzwords encountered in business and management
Encyclopedia of business and financePresents information on wide-ranging areas concerning business, including accounting, economics, finance, information systems, law, management and marketing
Accounting, business studies and economics dictionary Aimed at students studying business and commerce

Key print dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Use the catalogue to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks


Catalogue searching

You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials

If you know the exact title in the New catalogue

If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue

Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.

More information


Databases and journal articles for Business

Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or research reports

Key databases for Business

Databases Notes Help
APAFT Australian public affairs full textProvides indexing and selected full text access to Australian literature in business, health, social sciences and humanitiesHelp and tips are available online from the APAFT search screen
Business source completeProvides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profilesAn online video is available from the Library home page - Online Training. Help and tips are available online from the Business Source Complete search screen
Emerald management xtraA full text database including reviews from the world's leading management journals, case studies, literature reviews, book reviews, conference information, interviews, profiles and 'How to...' guidesAn online video is available from the Library home page - Online Training. Help and tips are available online from the Emerald Management Xtra search screen.
ScienceDirectContains the full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals. Subject coverage includes the life, medical, technical, social and physical sciencesAn online video is available from the Library home page - Online Training. Help and tips are available online from the Science Direct search screen

Complete list of Business databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list


Full text not available?

When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available

Database search tips

For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library


Key internet sites for Business

It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly information found on the web.

This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches using search engines

Useful starters

Professional organisations

  • Business SA: the hive of industry Includes a variety of resources, and outlines available business services and training from South Australia's leading business organisation
  • South Australia.biz Provides articles on South Australian business news, and statistically advocates SA's business capabilities in a range of sectors

Government organisations

Academic and research organisations

  • Bschool Links to undergraduate, graduate, and executive education business program websites and lists published rankings

Business communication

  • Business writers free library Provides resources on basic composition and writing skills, samples of written forms and reference materials from the Free Management Libary


For further information about any of these resources please contact the Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk

Coordinated by: BUE Academic Library Services Team