Aboriginal and Islander Studies
Starting point for
Aboriginal and Islander Studies
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+australia +"native title"
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +Australia +"native title" +Mabo
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Aboriginal and Islander Studies
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
Key databases for Aboriginal and Islander Studies
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| Informit Indigenous databases | Informit Indigenous databases is a suite of databases containing selected bibliographic records relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. | Help is available from the Informit Search Page |
| AustLit | AustLit has authoritative information on creative and critical Australian literature. It covers works by or about more than 100,000 Australian authors and literary organisations, from 1780 to the present. | Help is available from the AustLit Help page. |
| OzBiogs | This collection of databases provide a range of information about Australian art and artists, including NATSIVAD - biographical data on Australian Aboriginal visual artists. | Help is available via Skype, email or phone -- details on the OzBiogs home page. |
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example Aboriginal and culture
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander, Indigenous
culture, traditions
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
Aborigin* OR Torres Straight Islander OR Indigenous
and
culture OR traditions
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example Aborigin* finds Aborginal, Aboriginals, Aboriginie, Aboriginies and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander resource links This page contains links to resources of interest to Indigenous people and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies
- Aboriginal Australia Indigenous news, travel, entertainment, spirituality, aboriginal nations, art and bush medicine
- Aboriginal studies WWW virtual library Links to many information sources under topic headings including native title, art and culture, languages, and history
- Academic info -Australian Aboriginal studies Scholarly and other Indigenous links
- Aussie educator Includes a variety of web resources about Aboriginals and Torres Strait Islanders
- Indigenous links page The ABC's portal to Indigenous Australian information on the web; this page has links to art, education, language and more
- Indigenous portal Links to resources, contacts and services
- Aboriginal Affairs Victoria The central point of advice to the Victorian Government on all matters affecting Victoria's Aboriginal people
- Aboriginal services From the South Australian State Records, this provides services to Aboriginal people recognising their rights to access personal information held in government records
- Aboriginal Benefits Foundation A not-for-profit organisation aiming to promote “activities, facilities or projects for the benefit or welfare of Aboriginal communities”. The site details these activities
- Aboriginal organisations in Sydney From the Barani: Indigenous History of Sydney City website, this site provides links to various Sydney Indigenous associations and organisations
- Central Land Council This is a statutory body of Aboriginal political self-representation, in the Central Australian region.
- Centre for World Indigenous Studies Research centre, aiming to facilitate cooperation between peoples and nations. Includes information on the association, its activities and an online library
- Northern Land Council This organisation was established in 1973 to represent traditional Aboriginal landowners and Aboriginal people in NT
- Aboriginal Heritage Unit Published by the Australian Museum, this website includes information about Aboriginal spirituality and cultural heritage
- AusAnthrop Features research and resources on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders from an anthropological perspective. The site includes an online library, discussion forums and links
- AWABA Created by the University of Newcastle, AWABA provides access to numerous information sources on the indigenous history, culture and languages of Newcastle and Lake Macquarie
- Stories of the Dreaming Presents full texts of the traditional stories of the aboriginal people, detailing their history and culture
- Bringing them home Report of the National Inquiry into the separation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children from their families
- Vibe health Includes advice for the Aboriginal community on how to live a healthy life as well as providing a list of contacts
- Indigenous Land Corporation (ILC) ILC is a statutory authority established to assist Indigenous people to acquire and manage land for economic, environmental, social and cultural benefits
- Indigenous law resources Hosted by AustLii, this is online database provides journal articles, reports and conference papers on law pertinent to Aboriginals and Torres Strait Islanders
- Mabo- the native title revolution Overviews the Mabo case and provides information on Koiki Mabo, Torres Strait Islander culture, colonisation, land rights and native title via various media
- Native Title Tribunal Australian Commonwealth Government agency that mediates native title claims under the direction of the Federal Court of Australia
- Reconciliation Australia Created by the Council for Aboriginal Reconciliation, this site promotes reconciliation and positive relationships between Indigenous and non-indigenous Australians
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: EASS Librarians