Ceramics
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
An illustrated dictionary of ceramics : defining 3,054 terms relating to wares, materials, processes, styles, patterns, and shapes from antiquity to the present day / George Savage, Harold NewmanDictionary of ceramics : pottery, glass, vitreous enamels, refractories, clay building materials, cement and concrete, electroceramics, special ceramics / A. E. DoddThe encyclopedia of pottery techniques
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+Ceramics +artists
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +ceramics +artists +Australia
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Ceramics
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| Design and applied arts index | In addition to the periodicals index, contains four directories: periodicals database, education database, organizations database, and museums/archives database | Help is available via the CSA Help & Support link |
| ARTbibliographies modern | abstracting and indexing of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. | Help is available via the CSA Help & Support link |
| Art abstracts | provides abstracting and indexing for international art publications, including periodicals, conference proceedings, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. | Help is available via the EbscoHost Help link |
| APAFT Australian public affairs full text | based on the journal indexing of the database Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS) providing indexing and selected full text access to Australian literature in business, health, social sciences and humanities | Help is available via the Informit Help link |
Complete list of Art databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example ceramics, pottery, techniques, glazes, sculpture
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
ceramic, pottery, sculpture
technique, glazes
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
ceramics or pottery
and
technique or glazes
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example techni* finds technical, technique, techniques and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Australian ceramics directory An initiative of the Potters' Society and provides an international and national reference of Australian ceramic artists for interior designers, galleries, collectors, art administrators, curators, students and international visitors
- Ceramic sculpture Provides links to ceramic artists and also provides links to numerous ceramic sites including online tutorials. Produced by Yahoo
- Clayzee Provides many links to sites covering all aspects of ceramics including ceramic dolls, ceramic forums, events, galleries and artists
- Recommended list of Ceramic Sites Links to artisans, galleries, journals, organisations, resources, exhibitions, educational opportunities. Provided by JHPottery
- World wide arts resources Web portal, created by Mark Ernst
- Clay Art Web Guide Portal of clay art, featuring over 3,000 resources over 60 categories
- Potter's Portal Another online pottery portal, with over 3100 clay related links arranged by subject
- National museum of Australian pottery Over 1,200 pieces of Australian pottery from between European settlement and the end of World War I. Also on display are over 100 original photographs, showing potteries, exhibition displays and portraits of the potters along with catalogues, price lists and numerous old advertisements.
- Ceramics today Independent ceramics site including links to sites on ceramic styles, ceramic techniques and technical information
- InterGlaze An interactive glaze analysis program by Gary Wang
- Polymer clay A guide to working with polymer clay, including how to form it, fire it, finish it, and store it
- Glaze recipes Compiled by the potters represented on the Central Clay web site
- Pottery the art Features a range of guides for the whole pottery process, from selecting a type of clay through to throwing it, glazing and firing
- Ceramics Victoria has member information, with sections on workshops, forums and festivals
- Australian Ceramics Association National, non-profit organisation representing practicing professional ceramists, ceramics students and other individuals interested in Australian ceramics
- Coastal Claymakers Professional organisation, representing potters from the mid north coast of New South Wales Australia
- Studio Potters SA An active social, teaching and exhibiting group of potters and ceramic artists
- Archie Bray Foundation for the Ceramic Arts is an American non-profit, educational institution founded in 1951 dedicated to the enrichment of the ceramic arts, offering residencies and specialized workshops to ceramic artists from around the world
- Craft Potters Association Uk association formed in 1958 by a small group of potters to promote interest in studio ceramics. Now has more than 1000 members
- Victor Greenaway Victor Greenaway currently resides in Umbria, returning to Australia annually to work in the Lakes Studio. In Italy he produces ceramics (terracotta and porcelain) in the castle studio at Viceno
- Len Cook A potter who lives near Townsville , Queensland. He specialises in domestic pots, and reef-inspired ceramic sculpture
- Susie McMeekin A potter of 25 years experience who lives in the Blue Mountains. She works in Porcelain and Stoneware, concentrating on only a few glazes: Chun, Celadon, Tea Dust and Ying Ching.
- Simon Reece Works with clay to create utilitarian ceramic vessels. His work currently reflects the stone formations of his hometown, in the Sydney basin.
- Australian Ceramics supports Australian ceramic art and professional ceramic practice nationally
- Jam factory Centre for the design, production, exhibition and sale of Australian eramics, furniture, metal and glass
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: EASS Academic Library Services Team