Electronic engineering
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
| Van Nostrand’s scientific encyclopedia | Scientific topics from Wiley, including electronic engineering |
| AlphaDictionary.com | Provides a list of electronic dictionaries and glossary. The site is sponsored by the Lexiteria Corporation |
| Electronics handbook | Provides a comprehensive reference to the key concepts, models, and equations necessary to analyse, design, and predict the behaviour of complex electrical devices, circuits, instruments, and systems |
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+electronic +circuit
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +electronic +circuit +design
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Electronic engineering
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
Key databases for Electronic engineering
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| Compendex | International bibliographic database that indexes engineering and applied science journals, conferences and technical reports | Help and tips are available online from the Compendex search screen. Help and search hints available on each screen |
| Inspec | International bibliographic database for electrical and electronic engineering, computing, physics and telecommunications | Help and tips are available online from the Inspec search screen. Help and search hints available on each screen |
| IEEExplore | Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings, and all current IEEE standards | Help available from each screen |
| ScienceDirect | International full text database for scientific research, including all fields of engineering | Help and search tips available from each screen |
| ACM Digital Library | Provides access to bibliographic information, abstracts and reviews in the area of computing | Help and tips are available online from the ACM search screen |
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example mixed-signal and testing
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
mixed-signal or hybrid
test* or measurement
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
mixed-signal or hybrid
and
test* or measurement
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example test* finds test, tested, tests, testing and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- SafeWork SA administers industrial relations legislation and manages all occupational health, safety and welfare functions in South Australia. The site provides links to related information, including Acts and legislation
- Engineers Australia provides information for engineers and is the national forum for the advancement of engineering in Australia
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: ITEE Academic Library Services Team