Fibre arts
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
| ArtLex art dictionary. | definitions for more than 3,600 terms used in discussing art / visual culture, along with thousands of supporting images, pronunciation notes |
| FabricLink | Textile dictionary of definitions |
| Textile Technical Dictionary | More than ten thousand words and expressions in four languages relating to the textile sector |
| Handbook of Technical Textiles | Essential guide for textile yarn and fibre manufacturers; producers of woven, knitted and non-woven fabrics; textile finishers; designers and specifiers of textiles for new or novel applications |
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+fibre +art
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +fibre +art +Australia
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Fibre arts
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| Design and Applied Arts Index | Covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design | Help is available via the CSA Help & Support link |
| Art abstracts | provides abstracting and indexing for international art publications, including periodicals, conference proceedings, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. | Help is available via the EbscoHost Help link |
| Art bibliographies modern | abstracting and indexing of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. | Help is available via the CSA Help & Support link |
| APAFT Australian public affairs full text | based on the journal indexing of the database Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS) providing indexing and selected full text access to Australian literature in business, health, social sciences and humanities | Help is available via the Informit Help link |
Complete list of Art databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example techniques of fibre art
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
fibre, fiber, textiles
technique,techniques,
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
fibre or textiles
and
technique
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example fib* finds fibre , fiber and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Textile Sites provides links to various sites relating to textile crafts and education. Maintained by the Embroiderers' Guild (UK)
- All Fiber Arts this site provides a variety of links to fibre arts lists and resources
- Complex Weavers is a site for those interested in complex weaving. Members' interests include crepe, custom yardage, compound looms, coptic weaving, card weaving, crackle colour and weave, colour, coverlets and computer aided design
- Fibre Arts Online Links to all fibrearts related web sites useful for fibre, fiber & textile artists.
- Textile Arts-Fiber Arts links to resources on the web related to quilting, and other fibre arts.
- Wool Works: the Online Knitting Compendium is a non-commercial site containing information for hand knitters. It provides many links to sites on resources, discussions and patterns
- The Australian Forum for Textile Arts Supporting textile arts through publications, forum conferences, workshops, advice and resources
- Handweavers Guild of America, Inc is a non profit organisation dedicated to encouraging excellence, inspiring creativity and preserving fibre tradition through education (US)
- Surface Design Association is the colouring, patterning, structuring, and transformation of fabric, fibre, and other materials. This organisation promotes contemporary textiles, printing, dying, weaving, stitchery, embroidery and computer assisted textile design through publications and conferences (US)
- Creative Fibre site of the New Zealand Spinning, Weaving and Woolcrafts Society. It brings together spinners, weavers, knitters, dyers, flax workers, felters, crocheters, free form fibre artists and all other people involved in the use of fibre (NZ)
- Craft Australia Top advocacy organisation for Australia's contemporary craft and design
- Rugweavers.com is dedicated to weaving. It provides instruction and help with rug weaving problems
- Computer Textile Design Group is an association of people who work with computers in embroidery, surface design, screen printing, patchwork, knitting, beading, lacemaking and other textile activities (UK)
- QuiltEthnic.com quilting and/or fiber-related art, craft and textile traditions of diverse ethnic groups from contemporary, traditional and/or historical perspectives
- Costumes and Textiles commenced in 1876, this collection is one of the United States' oldest and longest collections of costumes and textiles. Produced by Philadelphia Museum of Art
- Textile Museum is committed to its role as a centre of excellence in the scholarly research, conservation, interpretation and exhibition of textiles, with particular concern for the artistic, technical and cultural significance of its collections. Washington DC (US)
- Bayeux Tapestry is an embroidery that is approximately 20 inches tall and 230 feet long. It tells the story of the events leading up to and including the Battle of the Hastings Oct 14, 1066
- Textile Museum of Canada is devoted to the collection, exhibition and documentation of textiles from around the world. It contains items such as embroidered Chinese hats, African indigo cottons, Indian silk saris and Turkish folk art rugs
- C.E.M. The Chung Young Yang Embroidery Museum The collection of the Chung Young Yang Embroidery Museum (C.E.M.) is based on the historical textiles that provided the foundation for the academic research of Dr. Young Yang Chung.
- Kay Lawrence main interest is in the area of textiles practice and theory, especially in relation to tapestry weaving.
- India Flint - alchemist, fashion designer, writer, feltmaker, cloth colourist & costumiere
- Patricia Black specializes in the field of dimensional textiles using dyeing techniques
- Julie Ryder explores eco-friendly dyeing techniques involving fermentation of fruit on fabric.
- Babara Rogers Barbara Rogers is a textile designer, based in Sydney
- Liz Jeneid Trained as a weaver in the USA and returned to Australia in 1977
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: Enter coordinator title