Painting and drawing
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
| Artlex | definitions for more than 3,600 terms used in discussing art / visual culture, along with thousands of supporting images, pronunciation notes, great quotations and cross-references |
| Artcyclopedia | a guide to Art movements and artists |
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+painting +techniques
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +painting +techniques +acrylic
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Painting and drawing
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| Art abstracts | Provides abstracting and indexing for over 400 international art publications, including periodicals, conference proceedings, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. | Help and tutorials available from home page and search screen |
| Art Bibliographies modern | Provides abstracting and indexing of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. The database covers the period from Impressionism in the late 19th century up to the most recent works and trends of the late 20th century. | Help and tips are available from the CSA art Bibliographies Modern search screen and the CSA Quick guide. |
| JSTOR Arts & sciences I-IV collection | Provides full text of the core scholarly journals in the arts and sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of the current publication. Use advanced search to browse by journal title or discipline. | Help and tips are available from the JSTOR search screen. |
| APAFT Australian public affairs full text. | APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text via Informit (1978-present) | Help and tutorial available from search page |
Complete list of Art databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example portraiture painting techniques
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
portrait, portraits ,faces
acrylics, oils, watercolours
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
portraiture
and
painting
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example portrait? finds portrait, portraits, portraiture and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- 20th Century WebMuseum, Paris. A site maintained by Nicolas Pioch that covers art movements of the 20th Century
- Art in Context established in 1995 to serve fine art, community and the general public by providing an online reference library for publication and dissemination of information about artists and where to find their work.
- Artcyclopedia: Australian Artists this site lists chronologically important Australian artists and gives links to their works, articles and other information
- ArtLex on Drawing Drawing defined, with example images from throughout history, techniques, materials, great quotations, pronunciation notes, and links to other resources.
- Drawspace.com - Drawing lessons Drawspace.com offers diverse downloadable and printable drawing lessons
- Drawing Resources and Tutorials for Artists and Illustrators Drawing Resources: Tips, Tutorials, and Techniques for Artists and Illustrators
- Art Navigator Art navigator is a gateway to drawing and painting resources on the Internet
- Art Movements Directory a concise reference guide to the major art movements and periods, helping you to learn more about the development and history of art.
- Art Studio Chalkboard designed by Ralph Larmann at the University of Evansville. The site is a resource that focuses on the technical fundamentals of perspective, shading, colour and painting
- About Painting Provides many links to various sites including acrylics, airbrushing, egg tempura, murals, museums, history, theory and technique
- ArtSchool OnLine maintained by Roger Elliott. Provides online lessons on painting
- Painting This site gives links to various sites including airbrushing, decorative painting, murals and watercolours
- Art and Artists maintained by Roger Elliott. This site, part of ArtSchool Online contains essays on artists such as Michelangelo
- Art Channel gives information and images of numerous artists including Blake, Delacroux, Goya, Kandinsky, Klimt, Leonardo, Matisse, Michelangelo, Mogdigliani, Munch, Picano, Rembrandt
- Frida Kahlo this site is dedicated to Frida Kahlo and has bibliographies, a biography and links to permanent and temporary exhibitions
- Impressionist Artists a site displaying the works of such artists as Mary Cassatt, Cezanne, Degas, Gauguin, Monet and Renoir
- Leonardo da Vinci provides comprehensive links to virtual exhibitions, information about Leonardo and includes a multi media zone
- Artists : Drawing World Wide Art Resources. This site gives links to specialised information on artists using different mediums in drawing
- Norman Lindsay illustrator, painter, sculptor, author and scale modeller
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: EASS Academic Library Services Team