Digital /new media art
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+"new media" +art
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +"new media" +art +australia
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Digital/new media art
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| Art Abstracts | Art Abstract database provides abstracting and indexing for over 400 international art publications, including periodicals, conference proceedings, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. | Help and tips are available from the Art Abstracts search screen and the EbscoHost Database Guide |
| Art Bibliographies modern | ARTbibliographies Modern provides abstracting and indexing of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. The database covers the period from Impressionism in the late 19th century up to the most recent works and trends of the late 20th century. | Help and tips are available from the CSA art Bibliographies Modern search screen and the CSA Quick guide. |
| Design and applied arts index | Covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design | Help and tips are available from the CSA Design and Applied Arts Index search screen and the CSA Quick guide. |
Complete list of Art databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example new media art
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
new media, digital art,art and technology
art, artist. artists
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
new media
and
artist
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example art* finds art , artist, artists, artisan and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- The Online Culture Channel a nonprofit independent network providing archive of Australian online culture, media, arts and technology.
- Australian Government culture and recreation portal New media art in Australia
- Digital art source Digital Art Source is a resource for digital art and culture information
- New media art and resources provide links to art, artists and resources working with new media and video
- Electronic Arts Intermix An online catalogue of artists' videos and new media, representing a broad survey of international media art from seminal works of the 1960s to new work by young artists of the 1990s
- Adaweb hosted by Walker Art Institute. The new media archive features an interactive guide to recent projects plus an index of artists and galleries
- Noise Based in Australia, Noise is a youth and media arts initiative that profiles young artists and presents their work in print, radio, television and online.
- Mesh An online journal hosted by Experimenta that explores critical issues surrounding new media arts
- ISEA Inter Society For The Electronic Arts. Founded in the Netherlands in 1990 and now based in Montreal, Canada ISEA is an organisation dedicated to the promotion and development of electronic art
- SIGGRAPH is dedicated to the generation and dissemination of information on computer graphics and interactive techniques
- Public Domain Inc Its mission is to explore the intersection of art, theory, technology and community
- Anita Fontaine Anita Fontaine works in the realm of interactive, motion and new media
- Peter Alwast Information and images from Irving Sandler Gallery
- Mari Velonaki MariVelonaki works in the field of interactive installation art
- John Tonkin John Tonkin is a Sydney based new media artist
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: EASS Academic Library Services Team