Communication and Media
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+communication +media
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +communication +media +advertising
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Communication and Media
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
Key databases for Communication and Media
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| Communication and mass media complete | Communication & Mass Media Complete provides research solutions in areas related to communication and mass media. | Help and support are available online |
| Communication studies a SAGE full-text collection | Covers such subjects as journalism, public opinion, political communication, mass communication, interpersonal communication, intercultural communication, cultural studies, discourse studies, television/film studies, media studies, business communication, organizational/management communication, written communication, rhetoric, and literacy studies. | Help and support are available online |
| APAFT Australian public affairs fulltext | Provides access to selected full-text articles from Australian literature in the business, health, social sciences and humanities | Help and support are available online |
| Newsbank newspapers | Full-text of all staff-written news stories complemented by additional sections, including obituaries, literary criticism, people, editorial pieces, book/film/art reviews | Help and support are available online |
| TVNews | TVNews indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format | Help and support are available online |
Complete list of Communication databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example communication in the media
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
communication, public relations, advertising, media
Enter keyword list
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
communication or advert* or promotion
and
televsion or film or newspaper
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example advert* finds advertise, advertising, advertisement and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Advertising Federation of Australia is a professional association representing companies in advertising and marketing communications to industry, government, media and the public
- National Communications Association is an international organisation dedicated to communication for researchers, educators, and professionals to better understand all forms of human communication.
- Web publishing guide is designed to asist Australian Government agencies to manage and market their websites, and to identify legal and policy obligations
- The Journalist's Toolbox features many web sites helpful to the media and others doing research in news and industry-related topics
- Newslab is a non-profit resource for television newsrooms, focusing on research and training attached to the Columbia School of Journalism
- National Women's Editorial Forum is Australia's national independent organisation dedicated to developing a media ethic in Australia which assumes equality of women and men in all aspects of its operations
- FACSNET is a website for the Foundation for American Communications
- Media history project is a resource from InfoMine to encourage educators to assist students in the use of the Internet, how to write for it and how to report on it
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: EASS ALS Academic Library Services team