UniSA Library
| Jump to Content


Journalism



Starting point for Journalism

Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews

Key online dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Newspapers handbook [electronic resource]Online version of The newspapers handbook
Margaret Gee's Australian media guide Extensive listings for over 25,000 media contacts and media outlets

Key print dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Use the catalogue to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks


Catalogue searching

You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials

If you know the exact title in the New catalogue

If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue

Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.

More information


Databases and journal articles for Journalism

Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or research reports

Key databases for Journalism

Databases Notes Help
NewsBank NewspapersFull text of most Australian newspapers as well as many international onesHelp and support are available online
Academic Search PremierProvides full-text for many journals including some that are peer reviewed. Backfiles and searchable cited references are also available. Subject coverage includes the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies and educationHelp and support are available online
Communication StudiesCovers such subjects as journalism, mass communication, interpersonal communication, intercultural communication, cultural studies, television/film studies, media studies, business communication, organizational/management communication, written communication, rhetoric and literacy studies Help and support are available online
APAFT – Australian Public Affairs Full TextProvides access to selected full-text articles from Australian literature in the business, health, social sciences and humanitiesHelp and tips are available online
TV NewsIndexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed formatHelp and search tips are available online
Communication & Mass Media CompleteFull text for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources related to communication and mass mediaHelp and support are available online

Complete list of Journalism databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list


Full text not available?

When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available

Database search tips

For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library


Key internet sites for Journalism

It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly information found on the web.

This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches using search engines

Useful starters

Professional organisations

  • National Press Club of Australia hosts addresses from an array of visiting international figures, Heads of State, Religious leaders, innovators and Australian political leaders
  • Journalism UK An online publishing company with links to news releases. recruitment and training

Government organisations


For further information about any of these resources please contact the Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk

Coordinated by: EASS Academic Library Services Team