UniSA Library
| Jump to Content


Information science



Starting point for Information science

Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews

Key online dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Online dictionary for library and information scienceResource for library and information science professionals, university students and staff, and users of all types of libraries
Encyclopedia of Knowledge ManagementComprehensive source of coverage related to the past, present, and emerging directions of knowledge management
Encyclopedia of Communities of Practice in Information and Knowledge ManagementLeading reference source for dynamic and innovative research in the field of communities of practice (CoPs) in information and knowledge management

Key print dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Use the catalogue to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks


Catalogue searching

You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials

If you know the exact title in the New catalogue

If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue

Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.

More information


Databases and journal articles for Information science

Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or research reports

Key databases for Information science

Databases Notes Help
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts (LISTA)LISTA contains references and abstracts from the mid 1960’s. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloguing, bibliometrics, online information retrieval and information managementHelp and tips are available online from the EBSCOHost search screen
Emerald management xtraProvides access to fulltext articles in a range of subject areas including librarianship. Coverage from 1989Help and tips are available online from the Emerald search screen
Australian Library and Information Science Abstracts (ALISA)Indexes Australian literature on library and information science. Subject coverage includes library science, information science, information technology, children's literature and archives. Coverage: 1982 – April 2005Help and tips are available online from the Informit search screen

Complete list of Information science databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list


Full text not available?

When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available

Database search tips

For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library


Key internet sites for Information science

It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly information found on the web.

This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches using search engines

Useful starters

Professional organisations, Australian

Professional organisations, international

Education and research

  • Librarianship courses from ALIA links to Australian universities which offer recognised courses in library and information science

Information literacy

  • Information Literacy Website developed by key UK professionals and organisations actively involved in the field of information literacy. The site provides case studies, examples of best practice and toolkits. Published by Eduserv

Tools

  • Dewey Decimal Summaries from OCLC, provides access to the summaries of the Dewey Decimal System and links to other resources such as the WebDewey tutorial


For further information about any of these resources please contact the Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk

Coordinated by: ITEE Academic Library Services Team