Gender studies
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+gender +masculinity
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +gender +masculinity +health
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Gender studies
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| Academic search premier | Indexes and provides selected full-text access to international literature in social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies and education. Access is via EbscoHost | Help and tips are available from the Academic Search Premier search screen and the EbscoHost Database Guide. |
| Australian public affairs full text (APAFT) | Indexes and provides selected full text access to Australian literature in business, health, social sciences and humanities. Access is via Informit | Help and tips are available from the APAFT search screen |
| Family & society plus | Indexes and provides selected full text access to Australian literature in social sciences e.g child development, domestic violence, family law etc. Access is via Informit | Help and tips are available from the Family & society plus search screen |
| PsycInfo | Indexes international literature in psychology and related disciplines | Help and tips are available from the PsycInfo search screen and the EbscoHost Database Guide and the CSA Quick Guide |
| Sociological abstracts | Indexes international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Access is via Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) | Help and tips are available from the CSA Sociological Abstracts search screen and the CSA Quick Guide |
Complete list of Gender studies databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example gender and culture
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
gender, sex role
culture, customs
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
gender or sex role
and
culture or customs
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example cultur* finds culture, cultures, cultural and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Research in Feminist Studies compiled by Sherri Barnes at the University of California, Santa Barbara Library includes information about feminism and gender studies
- Siyanda is hosted by BRIDGE - the gender and development research and information service located at the Institute of Development Studies (IDS). It is a database of gender and development materials from around the world
- Voice of the Shuttle: Gender and Sexuality Studies compiled by Dr. Alan Liu at the University of California Santa Barbara provides links to a range of resources on gender studies
- Women's Studies/Women's Issues Resource Sites compiled by Professor Joan Korenman at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County provides links to a range of resources on women’s studies and issues
- World Bank Group: Gender and Development developed by the World Bank Group includes information and publications about gender issues in developing countries
- Office for Women developed by the Australian Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs.The Office provides information on policies and issues affecting women in Australia
- GenderStats a database of gender statistics developed by the World Bank's Gender and Development Group and Development Data Groupin collaboration with the Development Data Group in the Development Economics Vice-Presidency (DECDG. Data sources include national statistics, United Nations databases and World Bank surveys
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: EASS Academic Library Services Team