Australian social policy
Starting point for
Australian social policy
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+"social policy" +Australia
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +"social policy" +Australia +family
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Australian social policy
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
Key databases for Australian social policy
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| Family & society plus | An indexing and selected full text database of articles on research, policy and practice issues about or of relevance to Australian families | Help and tips available from the Family & society plus search screen |
| Social services abstracts | Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. | Help and tips available from the CSA Social services abstracts search screen and the CSA user guide |
| H&S health & society database | A subset of Australian family & society abstracts. This database focuses on health policy and services and associated social, psychological, legal and ethical issues | Help and tips available from the H&S health and society database search screen |
| Academic Search Premier | A database of abstracts and indexing, and selected full text of journals covering social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies and education | Help and tips available from the Academic Search Premier search screen and the Academic Search Premier user guide |
| APAFT Australian Public Affairs Full Text | Based on Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS), this database provides selected full text access to Australian literature in business, health, social sciences and humanities | Help and tips available from the Australian public Affairs Full Text search screen |
| MAIS multicultural Australia and immigration studies | A bibliographic database of materials on Australian immigration and multicultural issues | Help and tips available from the MAIS multicultural Australia and immigration studies search screen |
| Sociological abstracts | This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences | Help and tips available from the CSA Sociological abstracts search screen and the CSA user guide |
Complete list of Social policy databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example youth and employment
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
youth adolescent
employment work
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
youth or adolescent
and
employment or work
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example employ* finds employed, employment, employee, employer and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: EASS Academic Library Services Team