International relations
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
| Europa World Plus | Online version of the Europa World Year Book, the source of information on world-wide affairs |
| NationMaster | Data compiled from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Maps and graphs on a range of statistics can be generated |
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+"international relations" +politics
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +"international relations" +politics +security
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for International relations
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
Key databases for International relations
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| Academic search premier | Indexes and provides selected full-text access to international literature in social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies and education. Access is via EbscoHost | Help and tips are available from the Academic Search Premier search screen and the EbscoHost Database Guide |
| Australian public affairs full text (APAFT) | Indexes and provides selected full text access to Australian literature in business, health, social sciences and humanities. Access is via Informit | Help and tips are available from the APAFT search screen |
| NewsBank | Full text access to news stories from across the World | Help and tips are available from the Newsbank search screen |
| Sociological abstracts | Indexes international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Access is via Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) | Help and tips are available from the CSA Sociological Abstracts search screen and the CSA Quick Guide |
| Worldwide Political Science Abstracts | Indexes international literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Access is via Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) | Help and tips are available from the CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts search screen and the CSA Quick Guide |
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example war and international relations
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
war conflict
international relations international alliances
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
war or conflict
and
international relations or international alliances
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example politic? finds politics, political, politician and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Amnesty International Online provides information about Amnesty International and access to publications and other human rights related websites
- NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization) provides information about NATO and access to publications and multimedia
- United Nations provides information about the United Nations and access to publications and multimedia, maintained by the United Nations Department of Public Information
- UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) provides information about UNESCO and access to its publications
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: EASS Academic Library Services Team