UniSA Library
| Jump to Content


Film studies



Starting point for Film studies

Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews

Key online dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

International Dictionary of Films and FilmmakersOnline version via Gale Virtual Reference Library

Key print dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Use the catalogue to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks


Catalogue searching

You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials

If you know the exact title in the New catalogue

If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue

Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.

More information


Databases and journal articles for Film studies

Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or research reports

Key databases for Film studies

Databases Notes Help
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database covering virtually every area of academic studyHelp and tips are available online
Australian Public Affairs Full TextAPAFT provides access to selected full-text articles from Australian literature in the social sciences and humanities from 1995 onwardsHelp and tips are available online
Internet Movie DatabaseInternet Movie Database is a comprehensive, searchable databaseHelp and tips are available online
FIAF international filmarchive database acclaimed international compendium of information on film and television from International Federation of Film Archives Help and tips are available online

Complete list of Film databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list


Full text not available?

When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available

Database search tips

For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library


Key internet sites for Film studies

It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly information found on the web.

This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches using search engines

Useful starters

Professional organisations

  • American Film Institute is a national institute providing leadership in screen education and the recognition and celebration of excellence in the art of film, television and digital media
  • Ausfilm is a non-profit industry organisation representing the Australian film, television and tv commercial production industry, and promotes filming in Australia
  • British Film Institute provides links to the Institute's archive, publications, learning resources, news, policies and strategies

Government organisations

  • Australia.gov.au is the Australian government entry point which offers access to Australian Government information and services
  • Screen Australia Commonwealth Government's screen agency providing support to Australian film, television, documentary and digital media makers
  • Film Victoria State Government agency that provides strategic leadership and assistance to the film, television and digital media sectors of Victoria

Film festivals

  • Film Festivals.com from Film Festivals Entertainment Group provides access to information on major film festivals worldwide
  • Tropfest Australia The largest short film festival in the world providing unique platforms for emerging filmmakers through its events and initiatives


For further information about any of these resources please contact the Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk

Coordinated by: EASS Academic Library Services Team