UniSA Library
| Jump to Content


Accounting



Starting point for Accounting

Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews

Key online dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Australian stock exchange - glossary of sharemarket termsLists both Australian and some international share market terms.
The Directory of essential accountancy abbreviationsFocuses on the UK, but also includes important worldwide abbreviations.
InvestorWords Internationally focused resource, including over 6000 definitions linking to other related terms.
Oxford dictionary of Australian investment terms Australian-specific dictionary produced by INVESCO global fund managers.
Accounting, business studies and economics dictionary Aimed at supporting students studying business and commerce

Key print dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Use the catalogue to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks


Catalogue searching

You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials

If you know the exact title in the New catalogue

If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue

Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.

More information


Databases and journal articles for Accounting

Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or research reports

Key databases for Accounting

Databases Notes Help
AATD Australian Accounting & Taxation DatabaseIndex and abstracts of articles on accounting and related business topics. Subject coverage includes accounting, auditing, taxation, insolvency, financial management, corporation law, banking, electronic data processing, management and superannuation. Help and tips are available online from the AATD search screen.
Business Source CompleteProvides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles.An online video is available from the Library home page - Online Training. Help and tips are available online from the Business Source Complete search screen.
Emerald Management XtraA full text database that includes reviews from the world's leading management journals, case studies, literature reviews, book reviews, conference information, interviews, profiles and 'How to...' guidesAn online video is available from the Library home page - Online Training. Help and tips are available online from the Emerald Management Xtra search screen.
Science DirectContains the full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals. Subject coverage includes the life, medical, technical, social and physical sciences.An online video is available from the Library home page - Online Training. Help and tips are available online from the Science Direct search screen.

Complete list of Accounting databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list


Full text not available?

When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available

Database search tips

For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library


Key internet sites for Accounting

It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly information found on the web.

This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches using search engines

Useful starters

Professional organisations

  • National Institute of Accountants (NIA) Provides accounting standards, technical updates, professional development, skill recognition, media centre and publications from the National Institute of Accountants (Australia).
  • CPA Malaysia Malaysian chapter of this international professional association, aiming to recruit, educate and train accountants and promote high professional standards.

Standards organisations

  • Malaysian Accounting Standards Board (MASB) Established under the Malaysian Financial Reporting Act, as an independent authority responsible for developing and issuing accounting and financial reporting standards in Malaysia.

Government information

  • Australian Taxation Office (ATO) Includes information on lodging tax returns and activity statements. Also contains publications, a media centre and online calculators.
  • Accountant General’s Department Malaysia This website provides information on the Accountant General’s Department Malaysia and its services, with the objective to enhance performance of its public delivery systems. The website includes information, organisation, accounting and online services.
  • Accountant General's Department Malaysia This website provides information on the Accountant General’s Department Malaysia and its services, with the objective to enhance performance of its public delivery systems. The website includes information, organisation, accounting and online services.

Legal information

  • ATO Legal database Online database featuring legislation, case law and policy information from the Australian Taxation Office.
  • AustLII Australasian Legal Information Institute. Includes legislation, superior courts and tribunal decisions, journals and some overseas legal information.
  • Australian Taxation Index Contains links to tax legislation, case law, Australian Taxation Office rulings, statutory interpretation and legal research. Hosted by Flinders University, South Australia.
  • ComLaw Provides low or no-cost access to the law. Maintained by the Australian Attorney-General's Department.
  • South Australian Legislation Access to South Australian legislation and includes information about the creation, variation or cessation of legislation. Updated every weekday.


For further information about any of these resources please contact the Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk

Coordinated by: BUE Academic Library Services Team