UniSA Library
| Jump to Content


Sport and recreation management



Starting point for Sport and recreation management

Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews

Key online dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

The outdoor companion: an environmental handbook for surviving and enjoying the outdoorsSplit into three sections, this handbook outlines skills necessary for self and group management; lists possible recreational activities and describes all required equipment.

Key print dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Use the catalogue to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks


Catalogue searching

You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials

If you know the exact title in the New catalogue

If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue

Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.

More information


Databases and journal articles for Sport and recreation management

Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or research reports

Key databases for Sport and recreation management

Databases Notes Help
APAFT Australian public affairs full text Provides indexing and selected full text access to Australian literature in business, health, social sciences and humanitiesHelp and tips are available online from the APAFT search screen.
Business source completeProvides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profilesAn online video is available from the Library home page - Online Training. Help and tips are available online from the Business Source Complete search screen
Leisure tourism databaseThis online database provides information for leisure, recreation, sport, tourism and the cultural industries. Includes regular news (updated weekly), reviews, conference proceedings, full text database to journal articles and selected books, calendar of courses, workshops and conferences, links to related websites.Help and tips are available online from the Leisure Tourism Database search screen.
SportDiscusInternational database on all aspects of exercise physiology, physical education, physical fitness, sports, sports medicine. Help and tips are available online from the SportDiscus search screen.

Complete list of Sport and recreation management databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list


Full text not available?

When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available

Database search tips

For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library


Key internet sites for Sport and recreation management

It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly information found on the web.

This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches using search engines

Useful starters

Government resources

  • Australian Sports Commission Australian Government body coordinating the Government’s contribution to sport. Includes online journals, news, events, research, policies and a directory.
  • Office for Recreation & Sport Information about the organisation, available scholarships and the SA Sports Institution. Also includes development resources, publications and descriptions of local sport facilities.
  • Sport and Recreation Queensland An agency aiming to make Queenslanders more active. Their website includes information about funding, community programs, industry information, facilities, publications and research.

Professional organisations

  • Academy of Leisure Sciences Includes background information on the academy; a list of founding and elected fellows, as well as bibliographies on these; and contact details of academy members.
  • World Leisure A world-wide, non-governmental association that promotes research, education, and advocacy in leisure studies, park and recreation management, and tourism studies.

Information and data services

  • Lifestyle Information Network Concentrates on Canadian information with searchable, full-text National Recreation Database of predominantly unpublished documents from municipal governments and non-profit organizations.

Outdoor recreation

  • Great outdoor recreation pages Features online guides that include information on recreation destinations, leisure activities, national parks, cities and necessary equipment.
  • Flinders camping Information about camping and outdoor recreation in the Flinders Ranges. Also features water and environmental advocacy and online shopping for camping materials.
  • Outdoor recreation research Directory to global outdoor recreation resource links arranged by topic. Includes some full text, online publications.


For further information about any of these resources please contact the Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk

Coordinated by: BUE Academic Library Services Team