UniSA Library
| Jump to Content


Economics



Starting point for Economics

Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews

Key online dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Economics A-ZOnline dictionary of economic terms published by 'The Economist' . Terms can be browsed alphabetically or searched directly.
Encyclopedia of business and finance Information on wide-ranging areas concerning business, including accounting, economics, finance, information systems, law, management and marketing.
Accounting, business studies and economics dictionary Aimed at supporting students studying business and commerce

Key print dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Use the catalogue to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks


Catalogue searching

You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials

If you know the exact title in the New catalogue

If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue

Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.

More information


Databases and journal articles for Economics

Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or research reports

Key databases for Economics

Databases Notes Help
Academic Search PremierCovers the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies and education. Help and tips are available online from the Academic Search Premier search screen.
APAFT Australian public affairs full text Provides indexing and selected full text access to Australian literature in business, health, social sciences and humanitiesHelp and tips are available online from the APAFT search screen.
ABS web siteIncludes economic and social indicators, time series, community profiles, and census data, provided by the Australian Bureau of Statistics Help and tips are available online from the AusStats search screen.
Business Source Complete Provides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profilesAn online video is available from the Library home page - Online Training. Help and tips are available online from the Business Source Complete search screen
EconlitThe American Economic Association's database contains references related to economics. Help and tips are available online from the EconLit search screen.
Source OECDThis site provides access to monographs, periodicals, and statistical databases issued by OECD on a variety of topics, including emerging economics; enterprise, trade, finance and investment.Help and tips are available online from the Source OECD search screen.
Science DirectContains the full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals. Subject coverage includes the life, medical, technical, social and physical sciences.An online video is available from the Library home page - Online Training. Help and tips are available online from the Science Direct search screen

Complete list of Economics databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list


Full text not available?

When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available

Database search tips

For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library


Key internet sites for Economics

It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly information found on the web.

This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches using search engines

Useful starters

Professional organisations

  • G8 Information Centre Publications, research and news from participants in the 'G8' economics summit. (France, USA, UK, Russia, Germany, Japan, Italy and Canada.)
  • Royal Economic Society UK based association promoting the study of economic science. Their website includes publications and association information.
  • Worldwatch Institute Dedicated to highlighting links between global economy and the environment; the site includes current research, events and publications.

Australian economics

  • Economic resources By the Department of the Treasury. Includes economic data and full text access to their publication 'Economic Roundup'.
  • Productivity Commission Website of Australian's principal research body on microeconomic policy and regulation; which includes research, publications and information about the commission.
  • ANZ economic commentary Includes detailed publications on the economic conditions and prospects of countries important to Australia.
  • Westpac economic reports Features a variety of economic reports: weekly updates, issues papers, market insights and an economic calendar.
  • Reserve Bank of Australia Includes economic briefs and the 'Bulletin' in full text, as well as statistics, information about monetary policy, market operations and financial systems.

Asian economics

  • Chinese Finance Association A non-profit organisation aimed at exchanging financial ideas between USA and China. Features links, papers, news and information about the organisation.
  • China economy Links to business news on economics, business intelligence, statistics, government policies and regions.
  • Asia Research Centre Research publications, events and links on social, political, and economic change in Asia.
  • Malaysian Economics Association The Persatuan Ekonomi Malaysia (PEM), also known as the Malaysian Economic Association (MEA), was founded in 1962. The Association provides a forum for economists to exchange ideas and allows for the dissemination of new information on economic matters.

International economics

  • World Economic Forum An independent international organisation, their website features a media centre, research library, events, initiatives and membership.


For further information about any of these resources please contact the Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk

Coordinated by: BUE Academic Library Services Team