Counselling
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+counsel +alcohol
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +counsel +alcohol +drug
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Counselling
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| PsycInfo | Database of international literature on psychology and related disciplines | Help and tips available from each screen within the database and the PsycInfo user guide |
| PsycArticles | Full text database of journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organisations | Help and tips available from each screen within the database |
| Psychology a SAGE full-text collection | Full-text database of psychology journals including counselling psychology | Help and tips available from each screen within the database |
| Counseling and psychotherapy transcripts, client narratives, and reference works | Searchable collection containing real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives | Help and tips available from each screen within the database |
Complete list of Psychology databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example Teenagers AND counselling
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
Teenage adolescent youth
Counselling counseling
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
Teenage or adolescent or youth
and
Counsel*
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example Counsel* finds counselling, counseling, counsellor, counselor and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Psych Web An American website linking to psychology-related resources, including counselling resources, created by Russell A. Dewey, PhD
- Intute: Psychology Online psychology resources compiled by Intute
- United Kingdom Council for Psychotherapy An umbrella organisation, with over 80 training, or accrediting organisations to inform and consult on issues of concern to practitioners and support continuing professional development.
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: EASS Academic Library Services Team