Property
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
| Glossary of terms | By the Real Estate Institute of Australia. Gives definitions for property terms, including terms used in valuation and town planning. |
| Lawyer's real estate dictionary | Online dictionary of legal terms used in property management and real estate. |
| Real estate encyclopedia | Created and updated by Australian professionals, featuring broad topics such as 'conveyancer', 'stamp duty' and 'agent'. |
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+property +management
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +property +management +international
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Property
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| APAFT Australian public affairs full text | Provides indexing and selected full text access to Australian literature in business, health, social sciences and humanities. | Help and tips are available online from the APAFT search screen. |
| Academic Search Premier | Covers the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies and education | Help and tips are available online from the Academic Search Premier search screen. |
| Business Source Complete | Provides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles. | An online video is available from the Library home page - Online Training. Help and tips are available online from the Business Source Complete search screen |
| Emerald management xtra | A full text database including reviews from the world's leading management journals, case studies, literature reviews, book reviews, conference information, interviews, profiles and 'How to...' guides. | An online video is available from the Library home page - Online Training. Help and tips are available online from the Emerald Management Xtra search screen. |
Complete list of Property databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example property AND law
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
property, real estate
law, legislation, legislative
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
property OR real estate
and
law or legislat?
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example legislat? finds legislation, legislations, legislative, legislate and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- CBRE CB Richard Ellis includes reports, bulletins and statistics on the retail and office markets in Australia and the world.
- Planning in South Australia Overview of SA's current and planned land use. Also includes government publications from the Department for Transport and Urban Planning.
- Real Estate Research Institute Non-profit organisation, its website features information about the institute and its fellows; as well as including links to the institute's past and current research.
- New Zealand Property Institute Provides publications and information, training and events; as well as global representation for the New Zealand property industry.
- The Australian property institute Represents the interests of Australian property professionals, including valuers, academics and lawyers. Includes news, publications, and training.
- Property Council of Australia Advocates the needs of the property industry in the political arena. The site features events, a media centre, online resources and related links.
- American Real Estate Society Professional and academic society, focusing on undertaking and disseminating research. The site includes information about the society and membership details, publications, and links.
- National Property Management Association US site that includes information about the association and membership, educational property management courses, certification, research, publications and a directory of professionals.
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: BUE Academic Library Services Team