UniSA Library
| Jump to Content


Manufacturing



Starting point for Manufacturing

Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews

Key online dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Van Nostrand’s scientific encyclopediaScientific topics from Wiley
ENGnetBASE: engineering handbooks onlineCRC Press engineering handbooks
Technology management handbookENGnetBASE handbook that covers science and management
Encyclopedia of materials, parts, and finishesENGnetBASE book with information on materials, forms and parts, finishes, and processes
Robotics and automation handbookReference for design, fabrication, and utilisation of robotic systems
Gale encyclopedia of scienceIn Gale Virtual Reference Library

Key print dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Use the catalogue to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks


Catalogue searching

You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials

If you know the exact title in the New catalogue

If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue

Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.

More information


Databases and journal articles for Manufacturing

Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or research reports

Key databases for Manufacturing

Databases Notes Help
CompendexInternational bibliographic database that indexes engineering and applied science journals, conferences and technical reportsHelp and tips are available online from the Compendex search screen
INSPECInternational bibliographic database for electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineeringHelp and tips are available online from the INSPEC search screen
ScopusMultidisciplinary scientific database with bibliographic records from journals, conference proceedings, book series, websites and patents.Help, including an interactive tutorial, available from every page

Complete list of Manufacturing databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list


Full text not available?

When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available

Database search tips

For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library


Key internet sites for Manufacturing

It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly information found on the web.

This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches using search engines

Useful starters

Government information

  • AusIndustry AusIndustry is the Australian Government's agency for delivering products, services and information that support industry, research and innovation

Specialist manufacturing groups

  • Superfactory A US company that aims to increase manufacturing efficiency and productivity worldwide

Professional organisations

  • Engineers Australia Provides information for engineers and is the national forum for the advancement of engineering in Australia


For further information about any of these resources please contact the Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk

Coordinated by: ITEE Academic Library Services Team