Ageing
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+ageing +nutrition
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +ageing +nutrition +health
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Ageing
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| Ageline | A bibliographic database related to aging and middle age, from an interdisciplinary perspective of psychology, economics, sociology, gerontology, public policy, business, health and health care services, and consumer issues | Help is available from any search screen within the database |
| Allied and complementary medicine | A bibliographic database produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library. It covers complementary medicine, palliative care, and health professions | Help is available from any search screen within the database |
| CINAHL | An authoritative resource covering international literature in nursing and allied health including topics related to the elderly. This database also includes some full text articles | Help is available from any search screen within the database or the EbscoHost Database guide on the Resources guides page |
| MEDLINE | The United States National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, allied health and other health related fields | Mapping to subject terms is recommended |
| PsycInfo | A bibliographic database covering such topics as psychology and related topics such as, addiction, ageing, health, human services, occupational therapy, and nursing among others | Help tips are available from each screen within the database and the PsycInfo user guide if using the EbscoHost platform |
| Social services abstracts | A bibliographic database covering addiction, ageing, cultural diversity, family, gender studies, human services, social policy and social work | Help is available from any search screen within the database |
Complete list of Ageing databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example ageing AND nutrition
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
ageing, aging, aged, elderly, older people
nutrition, nutritional, nutritionally, diet, dieting, dietetics
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
age* OR aging OR elderly OR older people
and
nutrition OR nutritional OR nutritionally OR diet*
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example diet* finds diet, dietary, dieting, dietetics and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Aged health Selected by Maureen Bell of University of Adelaide. She has included Australian and overseas web resources as well as some useful tips for searching MEDLINE and relevant topics for the elderly in MEDLINEPlus
- Aged resources Selected by the Parliamentary Library of Australia. It includes a list of national and state age related government departments, agencies, institutions and other resources
- Ageing & aged care Selected by Jan Badcock of Flinders University. She has included Australian and international resources including Australian research centres
- Ageing Research Online (ARO) ARO provides access to information on ageing relevant policy responses, courses, grants, literature, and research initiatives
- BUBL link : Ageing BUBL Information Service of the Centre for Digital Library Research, University of Strathclyde is a searchable catalogue of selected websites arranged in subject clusters
- Intute: aging Created by a network of UK Universities and partners for education and research, evaluated and selected by a network of subject specialists
- Intute: social sciences Created by a network of UK Universities for education and research
- SocioSite: Sociology of aging SocioSite is the Social Science Information System based at the University of Amsterdam and includes selected international websites on aging and other topics for education and research
- Office for the Ageing (South Australia) OTFA OFTA is responsible for the funding and grants programs in relation to the elderly and research. It also administers the Seniors card program and the Aged Care Assessment Program
- ARC/NHMRC Research network in Ageing well This Network aims to bring together established and early career researchers and end-point users. It includes links to Australian research publications and related research bodies
- Centre for Population Studies (UK) This site has an excellent list of links to international bodies covering statistics, government and non-government organisations, research and information
- British Geriatrics Society This is a professional association for geriatric medicine. It includes information, publications, research and links to specific UK centres of good practice in age related medicine
- Gerontological Society of America (GSA) GSA provides researchers, educators, practitioners, and policy makers with information to understand, advance, integrate, and use basic and applied research on aging
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: Health Sciences Academic Library Services Team