Food science
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
| Encyclopedia of food sciences and nutrition | A comprehensive 10-volume reference work covering food science, food technology and nutrition from an international perspective |
| Encyclopedia of food and culture | This resource covers food and its place in human culture and society, from food preparation, distribution and storage to holidays and festivals, nutrition and health, and cultures and cuisines |
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+food +analysis
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +food +analysis +australia
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Food science
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| Academic Search Premier | A multidisciplinary database which includes coverage of nearly every area of academic study including the medical sciences, and which also offers full text for many journals | Help is available from any search screen within the database |
| MEDLINE | The United States National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database covering medicine, nursing, biomedical sciences, pharmacy and allied health | Help is available from any search screen within the database |
| ScienceDirect | ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and technology full text and bibliographic information | Help is available from any search screen within the database |
Complete list of Food science databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example food spoilage AND microorganisms
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
food spoilage OR food safety
microorganism* OR microbe* OR bacteri* OR fung*
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
food spoilage OR food safety
and
microorganism* OR microbe* OR bacteri* OR fung*
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example bacteri* finds bacteria, bacterium and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- HealthInsite Quality assessed information on important health topics. An Australian Government initiative, funded by the Department of Health and Ageing
- Intute: Agriculture, Food and Forestry Created by a network of UK universities and partners, and provides access to evaluated education and research web resources
- Center for Food Safety & Applied Nutrition (CFSAN) One of six centers within the United State's Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
- Allergen Bureau The first point of contact for questions on the management of food allergen risks in food ingredients and food manufacturing in Australia and New Zealand
- Food Science Australia A joint venture of CSIRO (Australian Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization) and the Victorian government
- CSIRO: Food Includes food marketing, processing, safety and health foods
- NUTTAB 2006 A food composition publication containing data on the nutrient content of foods available in Australia
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: Health Sciences Academic Library Services Team