Environmental sciences
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+ecology +biodiversity
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +ecology +biodiversity +plants
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Environmental sciences
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
Key databases for Environmental sciences
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| Web of Science | Comprehensive bibliographic database that includes databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index | Online help including large range of training materials, guides, FAQs and online tutorials |
| Compendex | Bibliographic records of thousands of engineering journals, conferences and technical reports covering engineering and applied science research | Help and tips are available online from the search screens |
| Scopus | Multidisciplinary scientific database with bibliographic records from journals, conference proceedings, book series, websites and patents | Help and tips are available online from any search screen |
| EVA Environmental Abstracts | Bibliographic database produced by the Environmental Protection Agency (Victoria) Library, with an Australian focus on articles on the environment and related fields | Help and tips are available online from any search screen |
| Agriculture & Natural Resources | Bibliographic database on Australia’s environment, agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries | Help and tips are available online from any search screen |
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example environment and tourism
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
environment or environmental
tourism or ecotourism
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
environment*
and
tourism or ecotourism
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example environment* finds environment, environments, environmental, environmentally and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- CSIRO, the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation - Environment Australia's national science agency covers all aspects of the environment, land and water, sustainable ecosystems, biodiversity and ecology
- Environmental Resources Information Network (ERIN) Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts, specialising in online data and information management, and spatial data integration and analysis
- United Nations Environment Programme is portal to global environmental information on sustainable development
- European Environment Agency Europe's gateway to environmental information is maintained by the European Environment Agency and its partners
- US Geological Survey provides a registry of earth science and environmental internet resources, with a focus on biology, geography, geology, geospatial information and water
- Natural Environment Research Council (UK) is a United Kingdom Research Council which funds and manages environmental science research in UK universities and research centres. The site provides information on major environmental issues such as climate change, biodiversity and natural hazards
- Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts Australian government department (formerly the Department of the Environment and Water Resources) which develops and implements national policy, programs and legislation to protect and conserve Australia's environment and heritage and to promote Australian arts and culture
- Geoscience Australia provides access to fundamental geospatial information about Australia and links to relevant websites
- Natural Resource Management an Australian Government site that provides information about the implementation of the National Action Plan for Salinity and Water Quality and the Natural Heritage Trust
- Bioenergy Atlas of Australia provides access to maps and information on existing and potential biomass energy resources as well as existing industry locations, infrastructure and other key data. The project was undertaken jointly by the Bureau of Rural Sciences and University of Adelaide
- Spatial Sciences Institute (SSI) is the national body combining the professional disciplines of surveying, mapping, engineering & mining surveying, remote sensing & photogrammetry and spatial information
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: ITEE Academic Library Services