Indigenous, rural and remote health
Starting point for
Indigenous, rural and remote health
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+rural +health
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +rural +remote +health +nurse
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Rural and remote health
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
Key databases for Rural and remote health
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| AIATSIS Indigenous studies bibliography | A bibliographic database that indexes published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous studies. Produced by the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies Library | Help is available from any screen within the database |
| ATSIhealth Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health bibliography (on Informit Medicine & Health) | A bibliographic database that indexes published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous health | Help is available from any screen within the database |
| Australian Public Affairs – Full Text (APA-FT) | APA-FT is based on the journal indexing of the database Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS) and provides indexing and selected full text access to Australian literature in business, health, social sciences and humanities | Help is available from any screen within the database |
| H&S health & society database (on Informit Medicine & Health) | A bibliographic database that covers published and unpublished material on health policy and services and the social, psychological, legal and ethical issues associated with health. Produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies | Help is available from any screen within the database |
| Informit Health | This subject collection of databases is particularly focused upon Australasia but includes material from around the world, including 10 smaller databases. These are a mixture of bibliographic and full text, and cover various aspects of medicine and health, including indigenous and rural health | Help is available from any screen within the database |
| RURAL rural and remote health database (on Informit Medicine & Health) | A bibliographic database that covers international rural and remote area health issues and care, and the practice and educational needs of health providers. It is produced by the Monash University School of Rural Health | Help is available from any screen within the database |
| SCOPUS | Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. A multidisciplinary database, it includes international coverage of rural and remote health | Help is available from any screen within the database |
Complete list of Rural health databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example rural AND health
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
rural, rurally, remote, remoteness, remotely, outback
health, healthy, wellbeing, well being, fitness
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
rural OR rurally OR remote OR remoteness OR remotely OR outback
and
health* OR wellbeing OR well being OR fitness
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example health* finds health, healthy, healthiness, healthier, healthcare and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Australian Department of Health and Ageing - Rural Health Information is provided on rural health for students, consumers and professionals. There are research reports and links to current legislation, services, policy, other government websites and professional organisations
- Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet (School of Indigenous Australian Studies, Edith Cowan University) This site is a hub for information relating to indigenous health. Links to materials such as statistics, guidelines, articles, journals, theses, and policies on a wide range of issues relating to Indigenous health, as well as providing a networking function.
- HealthInsite: A-Z Health Topics Quality assessed information on important health topics, including rural and remote health. An Australian Government initiative, funded by the Department of Health and Ageing
- Intute: health & life sciences Created by a network of UK universities and partners. The nursing, midwifery and allied health professions pages of Intute provide access to evaluated education and research web resources
- Rural and Remote Health Journal This free international electronic journal contains articles relating to “rural and remote health research, education, practice and policy”. Links are also provided to a range of sites covering aspects of rural health
- ABC Rural (Australia) The hub for the Australian Broadcasting Commission’s rural content, including material from ABC TV, Radio and Online
- Queensland Health, Queensland Government This organisation is responsible for the provision of health services for all Queenslanders. Information about health topics, services, policy, programs, events and employment opportunities is provided
- ARHEN (Australian Rural Health Education Network) This network was formed to provide a coordinating and representative function for the eleven Schools and Departments participating in the University Departments of Rural Health Program. Links to member websites, where available, are provided
- Institute of Rural Health (UK) The IRH aims to improve rural health through research, education and policy analysis. Publications, news and links are provided
- Royal Flying Doctor Service (RFDS) The RFDS “is a not-for-profit service providing aeromedical emergency and primary health care services together with communication and education assistance to people who live, work and travel in regional and remote Australia”
- Rural Health Research Gateway (USA) Provided by the Office of Rural Health Policy, this site provides access to information about research projects, research centres and researchers, as well as abstracts and/or fulltext publications arising from research conducted as part of the Rural Health Research Center Program
- Spencer Gulf Rural Health School (SGRHS) A joint project of the University of South Australia and the University of Adelaide, the SGRHS has the goal of improving the health of rural and remote communities through education and research
- Australian Rural Nurses and Midwives (ARNM) ARNM is a voluntary organisation with the aim of promoting quality health care in rural Australia through supporting rural health professionals, advocacy, and promoting professional standards
- National Rural Health Network (NRHN) (Australia) This multidisciplinary network of university rural health clubs represents medical, nursing and allied health students with the aim of enlarging the health workforce and improving health outcomes for rural and remote Australians
- National Rural Health Association (USA) The NRHA is a national nonprofit membership organization. Its goal is to “improve the health and wellbeing of rural Americans and to provide leadership on rural health issues through advocacy, communications, education, research and leadership”
- Pharmacy Guild of Australia The Guild represents the interests and meets various needs of the pharmacy owners who comprise its membership. The Guild manages the Rural Pharmacy Workforce Program (RPWP)
- Norwegian Centre for Telemedicine The NST “gathers, produces and disseminates knowledge about telemedicine services, both in Norway and internationally”. It is the WHO’s first Collaborating Centre for Telemedicine
- Telemedicine Information Exchange A hub for international information about telemedicine, telehealth, and telemedicine/telehealth related activities, managed by the Association of Telehealth Service Providers (ATSP)
- University of Queensland Centre for Online Health The COH undertakes research in telehealth and homecare, teaches about online health, and delivers online health services. The Centre’s focus is upon development of best practice models in online healthcare
- Aboriginal Health Council of South Australia Inc. (AHCSA) AHCSA is a non-government organisation that represents “Aboriginal community controlled health and substance misuse services in South Australia at a state and national level”. Some of the available resources include annual reports, media releases and information about education and training
- Cooperative Research Centre for Aboriginal Health (CRCAH) The CRCAH’s partners are drawn from the Aboriginal health sector, government health agencies and research institutions. Links are provided to a variety of publications such as newsletters and media releases, and to information about research projects, education and training, programs, and events
- Department of Health and Ageing – Indigenous Health Information is given about the role of the Office for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health (OATSIH) and the programs and initiatives it provides. An alphabetical list of online OATSIH publications is included
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: Health Sciences Academic Library Services Team