Arts and Cultural Management
Starting point for
Arts and Cultural Management
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
| Arts marketing: the pocket guide | Produced in partnership with the Centre for Professional Development and the Australia Council. Contains tips and tools to approach marketing. |
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+cultural +manage
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +cultural +manage +quality
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Arts and Cultural Management
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
Key databases for Arts and Cultural Management
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| APAFT Australian public affairs full text | Provides indexing and selected full text access to Australian literature in business, health, social sciences and humanities. | Help and tips are available online from the APAFT search screen. |
| Academic search premier | Covers the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies and education. | Help and tips are available online from the Academic Search Premier search screen. |
| Business source complete | Provides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles. | An online video is available from the Library home page - Online Training. |
| Emerald management xtra | A full text database that includes reviews from the world's leading management journals, case studies, literature reviews, book reviews, conference information, interviews, profiles and 'How to...' guides. | An online video is available from the Library home page - Online Training. |
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example arts and market*
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
art, arts, drama, music, media, visual arts, performing arts
marketing, sales
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
arts OR drama OR music OR media
and
market* OR sales
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example market* finds market, markets, marketer, marketers, marketing, marketed and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Culture.gov.au Australian government's culture and recreation portal which provides access to over 4,000 websites.
- Artsmarketing.org US site created by the Arts and Business Council of Americans for the Arts as a resource for arts marketing resources. Features case studies, subject guides and training.
- Artsnet Produced in the US, this is a searchable database of management resources available on the Internet, hosted by Carnegie Mellon University.
- Fuel4arts This Australian site operates as an online global community and includes free marketing tools and ideas. Features arts marketing resources, publications and networking opportunities.
- Arts Council England This independent, non-political body promotes access, education and excellence in the arts. Features news, publications, grants and links.
- Arts Law Centre of Australia An Australian not-for-profit national community legal centre for the arts. The site includes fact sheets on a range of business topics relating to the arts.
- The Wolanski Foundation Facilitates management, presentation and appreciation of the performing arts in Australia. Includes information about the foundation, online fact sheets, publications and research.
- Center for Arts Management and Technology Investigates communication technologies, and their practical application for arts managers. This US site includes information about the centre, products and services available, workshops and links.
- AusStage Index to performing arts events in Australia. Also includes a directory of research.
- Canberra Arts Marketing Provides marketing services and advocates building partnerships to support Australian arts. Includes information about the organisation and a number of publications.
- Arts and business Promotes a variety of partnerships between businesses and the arts. This UK site also includes case studies, press archives and research.
- Arts and Business Council Inc. Through local and national programs, the Council brings expertise, resources, and leadership talent from the business world to the American arts community. The site includes their programs and publications.
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: BUE Academic Library Services Team