UniSA Library
| Jump to Content


Mechanical engineering



Starting point for Mechanical engineering

Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews

Key online dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Mechanical engineers’ handbookFour volumes from Wiley Interscience
ENGnetBASE : engineering handbooks onlineCRC Press engineering handbooks
Van Nostrand’s scientific encyclopediaMajor scientific topics from Wiley, including mechanical engineering

Key print dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Use the catalogue to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks


Catalogue searching

You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials

If you know the exact title in the New catalogue

If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue

Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.

More information


Databases and journal articles for Mechanical engineering

Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or research reports

Key databases for Mechanical engineering

Databases Notes Help
Compendex International bibliographic database that indexes engineering and applied science journals, conferences and technical reportsHelp and tips are available online from the Compendex search screen
InspecInternational bibliographic database for electrical and electronic engineering, computing, physics and telecommunicationsHelp and tips are available online from the Inspec search screen
IEEExploreProvides full text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings, and all current IEEE standardsHelp and tips are available online from the IEEExplore search screen
ScienceDirectInternational full text database for scientific research, including all fields of engineeringHelp and search tips available from each screen

Complete list of Mechanical engineering databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list


Full text not available?

When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available

Database search tips

For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library


Key internet sites for Mechanical engineering

It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly information found on the web.

This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches using search engines

Useful starters

Government information

  • SafeWork SA administers industrial relations legislation and manages all occupational health, safety and welfare functions in South Australia. The site provides links to related information, including Acts and legislation

Professional organisations

  • Engineers Australia provides information for engineers and is the national forum for the advancement of engineering in Australia.

Robotics

  • Robotics related links from the Australian Robotics & Automation Association (ARAA) covering international robotics organisations, sites and labs
  • Honda Worldwide with links and information about the humanoid robot Asimo created by Honda
  • Robotics Online is a portal site for the robotics industry from the Robotic Industries Association. Includes buyer's guide, articles, news and opinion pieces, job listings, educational resources and events

Research institutes

  • Monash University links provide information on specialized research laboratory groups within the Department of Mechanical Engineering


For further information about any of these resources please contact the Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk

Coordinated by: ITEE Academic Library Services Team