Nursing
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+ageing +dementia
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +ageing +dementia +nurse
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Nursing
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| Allied and complementary medicine (AMED) | A bibliographic database produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library. It covers complementary medicine, palliative care, and the allied health professions | Help is available from any search screen within the database |
| CINAHL | A bibliographic database covering international literature in nursing and allied health | Help is available from any search screen within the database |
| Cochrane Library | The Cochrane Library is designed to supply high quality evidence to inform people providing and receiving care, and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels | Help is available from any search screen within the database |
| Health source: Nursing/Academic edition | Full text database focusing on many medical disciplines, especially nursing and allied health. Also has bibliographic records from many other journals | Help is available from any search screen within the database |
| Joanna Briggs Institute | Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) brings together a range of practice-oriented research activities to improve the effectiveness of nursing practice and health care outcomes | Help is available from any search screen within the database |
| MEDLINE | The United States National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database covering medicine, nursing, biomedical sciences, pharmacy and allied health | Help is available from any search screen within the database |
Complete list of Nursing databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example wounds AND cross infection
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
wound, wounds, injury, injuries, injured, trauma
cross infection, infection control, infection rates
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
wound* OR injur* OR trauma
and
cross infection OR infection control OR infection rates
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example injur* finds injury, injured, injuries and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Allnurses.com Nursing for nurses, an online nursing community
- Images from the History of Medicine Images from the US National Library of medicine, National Institutes of Health. Contains images illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine including nursing images
- MedWeb Contains links to Nursing topics including Midwifery. From the Emory University Health Sciences Centre Library, US
- Nursing, Midwifery and Allied Health Created by a network of UK universities and partners, Intute provides access to evaluated education and research web resources, in the nursing, midwifery and allied health professions
- NurseScribe USA Lifelong learning resources for students, educators, nurses and researchers
- Nursing and Nursing Research Nursing Links for nurses and researches from the Hardin Library for Health Sciences, University of Iowa, USA
- Nursing resources Nursing Resources by Topic, developed by Maureen Bell, University of Adelaide
- Selected Nursing Web Sites Selected nursing web sites from the Health Sciences Library Resources at the University of Buffalo, USA
- Centre for Nursing Research and Development The goal of Curtin University’s School of Nursing and Midwifery's Research and Development Program is to contribute to the achievement of improved health outcomes of individuals, families, and communities at a national and international level
- Joanna Briggs Institute Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) brings together a range of practice-oriented research activities to improve the effectiveness of nursing practice and health care outcomes
- International Council of Nurses The International Council of Nurses is a federation of national nurses’ associations (NNAs), representing nurses in more than 128 countries
- Nursing and Midwidery Board of South Australia The nmbSA provides for the registration and enrolment of nurses, midwives and mental health nurses and regulates nursing and midwifery to maintain standards of competence and conduct in South Australia
- The Malaysian Nurses Association The Malaysian Nurses Association is the professional nursing organization representing all registered nurses in Malaysia. Its objectives include to support the advancement, education, research, ethics and conduct of the profession
- Royal College of Nursing Australia Royal College of Nursing, Australia is the nation's leading professional organisation representing nurses from all areas of practice throughout Australia
- Royal College of Nursing UK The RCN represents nurses and nursing, promotes excellence in practice and shapes health policies in England
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: Health Sciences Academic Library Services Team