Finance
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+finance +investment
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +finance +investment +planning
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Finance
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| Annual Report Collection | Contains the annual reports of Australian companies selected by market capitalisation. | Help and tips are available online from the Annual Report Collection search screen. |
| Business Source Complete | Provides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles. | An online video is available from the Library home page - Online Training. |
| NewsBank Newspapers | Provides the full-text of all staff-written news stories from Australian local, regional, and national newspapers, as well as key international sources. | Help and tips are available online from the Newsbank Newspapers search screen. |
| Thomson One Banker Analytics | Provides the resources for a complete and accurate picture of a company or market. Detailed quantitative analysis can be conducted with the help of over 200 pre-built reports and charts. | Help and tips are available online from the Thomson One Banker Analytics search screen. |
Complete list of Finance databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example finance AND manag*
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
finance, wealth, money, credit
management, administration, governance
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
finance OR wealth OR money
and
manag* OR administration OR governance
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example manag* finds manage, manager, managers, managed, managing, managerial, manages, management and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Finance Site List Portal to financial websites, compiled by the Fisher Department of Finance at the Ohio State University.
- Wachowicz's Web World Annotated listing of finance sites arranged topically and compiled by John Wachowicz, Professor of Finance, University of Tennessee, Knoxville.
- GlobalEDGE Created by Michigan State University. Includes information on countries, US states and industries; as well as research and teaching resources and decision support tools for managers
- EDGAROnline Provides a free Annual Reports Service. Reports are submitted by companies and can be locate by company name or industry. They are available in PDF format and new companies are added weekly.
- Business resources : Finance From Louisiana State University. Links to finance resources. Also provides links to related guides on industry and company information and e-commerce
- Reserve Bank of Australia Includes information about the reserve bank and its activities, as well as statistics, publications and media releases.
- National Information Center - Central repository of data about banks and other institutions for which the U.S. Federal Reserve has a supervisory, regulatory, or research interest, including both domestic and foreign banking organisations operating in the United States.
- Australian Stock Exchange Provides stock market information and stock quotes. Also features investor centre information for shareholders and company details.
- Yahoo!7 Finance Australian financial news and market information from Yahoo!7.
- CNNmoney.com U.S. Business news service provided by MarketWatch, Inc.
- ThisisMoney.co.uk Published by published by Associated Northcliffe Digital this site provides financial news from the UK. Also includes financial guides, consumer advice, tools and calculators.
- Australian Financial Markets Association AFMA is the national industry body representing Australian over-the-counter wholesale financial markets. Includes information about the association and market data.
- Finance and Treasury Association Australian non-profit association for professionals in treasury or financial risk management. Features information about the association and its activities.
- The Commonwealth Treasury of Australia Australia's principal advisor for national finance. Features information about the treasury and its activities, as well as links, resources on business and publications.
- South Australian Department of Treasury and Finance Supports the Government's key economic, social and financial policy outcomes and provides financial services to the Government and the community, covering asset and liability management, collection of state taxes, insurance and superannuation.
- Chief Financial Officers Council A US government council, which works collaboratively to improve financial management. The site includes information about the council, events, documents and links.
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: BUE Academic Library Services Team