Anthropometry, biomechanics and ergonomics
Starting point for
Anthropometry, biomechanics and ergonomics
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+anthropometry +child
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +anthropometry +child +growth
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Anthropometry, biomechanics and ergonomics
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
Key databases for Anthropometry, biomechanics and ergonomics
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| EMBASE | A medical database with particularly good coverage of drug literature. The emphasis is on European sources | Help is available from any search screen within the database |
| Ergonomics abstracts online | A comprehensive international abstracting service spanning the world of ergonomics and human factors. Not only covers mainstream ergonomics but information on related material from psychology, physiology, biomechanics, job design, human-computer interaction, safety science, human engineering, medicine, occupational health, sport and transport | Basic help information available from any screen within the database |
| MEDLINE/PubMed | The United States National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database covering medicine, nursing, biomedical sciences, pharmacy and allied health. Also freely available as PubMed | Help is available from any search screen within the database |
| OSH UPDATE | This database brings together six complementary bibliographic databases covering critical international occupational health and safety information | Help is available from any search screen within the database |
| SportDiscus | International database on all aspects of exercise physiology, physical education, physical fitness, sports, sports medicine. Includes references on biomechanics, anthropometrics and ergonomic aspects | Help is available from any search screen within the database |
Complete list of Human movement databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example ergonomics AND bicycling
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
ergonomics, ergonomic, human engineering, human factors
cycling, cyclist, cyclists, bike, bikes, biking, bicycle, bicycling, bicyclist, bicyclists
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
ergonomic* OR human engineering OR human factors
and
cycl* OR bike* OR biking OR bicycl*
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example bicycl* finds bicycle, bicycling, bicyclist, bicyclists and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Anthropometric Indicators Measurement Guide A publication of the Food and Nutrition Technical Assistance Project (FANTA). The guide provides information on the anthropometric impact indicators and the annual monitoring indicators for Maternal and Child Health/Child Survival
- AnthroSources A product of the Visualization and Usability Group, of the National Institute of Standards and Technology. Contains databases, visual access resources and other resource material
- C3D.ORG Provides detailed information on the C3D file format which is a public domain, binary file format that is used in biomechanics, animation and gait aalysis laboratories to record synchronized 3D and analog data
- CAESAR - Civilian American and European Surface Anthropometry Resource From the Society of Automotive Engineers, CAESAR provides 3-D data from North America and Europe on the size and shape of today’s human body
- Clinical Gait Analysis Provides a forum for the discussion of clinical gait analysis: technical aspects, clinical cases and new developments
- CUErgo: Cornell Ergonomics Web studies and class work of the Cornell Human Factors and Ergonomics Research Group’s (CHFERG) students and staff. Links to other sites
- Ergonomics in Australia Hosted by Mark Dohrmann and Partners Pty Ltd, Australian Consulting Engineers and Ergonomics, the site provides
- Intute: health & life sciences Created by a network of UK universities and partners, Intute provides access to evaluated education and research web resources in medicine
- HealthyComputing From an American company in office ergonomics and safety. Computer and office-related health and ergonomics information
- Australian Government Search the site for details of federal websites, publications and media releases in subject areas
- American Society of Biomechanics Provides information about the ASB and its operations. Also provides abstracts or full text of papers from the ASB annual conferences and links to other organisations
- International Society of Biomechanics The IBS promotes the study of all areas of biomechanics at the international level. The Information Services section leads to web links, standards and the Biomch-L discussion forum
- European Society UK-based professional society for ergonomists, human factors specialist and those involved in user-centred design
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: Health Sciences Academic Library Services Team