Human resource management
Starting point for
Human resource management
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+"personnel management" +train
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +"personnel management" +train +practice
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Human resource management
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
Key databases for Human resource management
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| Business Source Complete | Provides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles. | An online video is available from the Library home page - Online Training. Help and tips are available online from the Business Source Complete search screen. |
| CCH Library | Provides access to legislation, law reports, digests, cases and legal guides in a range of areas of law including topics such as industrial law, trade practices, taxation and occupational health and safety. | Help and tips are available online from the CCH search screen. |
| Management & organization studies a SAGE full-text collection | This database includes the full text of 36 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, encompassing over 12,000 articles and up to 57 years of backfiles. | Help and tips are available online from the Management and Organisation SAGE search screen. |
| Emerald Management Xtra | A full text database that includes reviews from the world's leading management journals, case studies, literature reviews, book reviews, conference information, interviews, profiles and 'How to...' guides. | An online video is available from the Library home page - Online Training. |
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example human resources AND team*
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
human resources, human resource management, personnel management
teambuilding, team dynamics, group work
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
human resource management OR human resources OR personnel management
and
team* OR team dynamics OR group work
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example team* finds team, teams, teambuilding, teamwork and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- BUBL LINK: Human Resource Management Catalogue of human resource management resources, produced by the Andersonian Library at Strathclyde University, UK.
- HR-Guide.Com Provides information on a variety of human resource topics, including performance appraisal, psychology and occupational health and safety.
- HRM Guide Network Based on Alan Price's book: Human Resource Management in a Business Context. Also features articles and news on human resource surveys, research, books and careers.
- Human Resource Management List of human resources links arranged by topic, from Nottingham Trent University, in the UK.
- WWW Virtual Library: Labor History Portal to hundreds of annotated links to organisations, institutions, resources, journals and conferences.
- Intute: social sciences: human resource management This UK site offers links to health and safety, motivation and recruitment web sites.
- International Labour Organisation (ILO) The site includes case studies for good practice in labour administration, a list of projects and full-text of most publications listed.
- Safework SA Australia's new workplace occupational health, safety and welfare agency. Features information on a number of topics including legislation, industrial relations and industries.
- Equal Opportunity for Women in the Workplace Agency Formerly the Affirmative Action Agency, established to administer the Equal Opportunity for Women in the Workplace Act 1999. Provides access to compliance information for employers and employees, some free publications and equity statistics.
- Workplace Authority An Australian government resource on wages and conditions of employment, covered by federal awards and agreements.
- Department of Labor From the US. Features information on all aspects of employment, including equal opportunity, training, health and safety, wages, leave benefits, and compensation.
- Department for Business, Innovation and Skills From the UK. Includes information on employment rights and responsibilities, for individuals and businesses. Also features a number of links to other websites and industry hot topics.
- Human Resources Institute of New Zealand Professional organisation for those interested or associated with human resource management. Features information on human resources, membership and industry events.
- Chambernet A gateway to Australia's leading industry associations.
- Business SA Includes a variety of resources, and outlines available business services and training from South Australia's leading business organisation.
- US Chamber of Commerce Represents free enterprise in Congress and the White House. Their site includes membership details, news, issues papers and information for small businesses.
- Australian Council of Trade Unions (ACTU) The ACTU leads a coalition of Australian unions. Their site features information about their current campaigns, work rights, news, publication archives, and union links.
- AFL-CIO The federation of America's labour unions, representing more than 13 million workers. Their site includes information on union activities.
- Labourstart A source of daily news and information on trade union and labour movement activities worldwide.
- AIRAANZ Association of Industrial Relations Academics of Australia and New Zealand. Includes publications and conference information.
- Academy of Human Resource Development International association encouraging research into human resource development theories and practices. The site includes information about the academy, publications and links.
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: BUE Academic Library Services Team