UniSA Library
| Jump to Content


Marketing



Starting point for Marketing

Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews

Key online dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Marketing dictionaryCreated by Monash University, this is a glossary of the marketing terms often encountered by university students while studying.
Margaret Gee's Australian Media GuideAn online marketing handbook and directory for Australian media. Contains information on Australian media outlets, including television stations and newspapers.

Key print dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Use the catalogue to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks


Catalogue searching

You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials

If you know the exact title in the New catalogue

If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue

Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.

More information


Databases and journal articles for Marketing

Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or research reports

Key databases for Marketing

Databases Notes Help
APAFT Australian public affairs full text Australian public affairs full text is based on the journal indexing of the database Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS) providing indexing and selected full text access to Australian literature in business, health, social sciences and humanities.Help and tips are available online from the APAFT search screen.
Business Source CompleteProvides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. It also includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles.An online video is available from the Library home page - Online Training.
Passport GMIDProvides web-based access to Euromonitor reference and source data, offering historical statistics and forecasts, information sources, brand and company information, plus full-text market analysis.Help and tips are available online from the Euromonitor search screen.
IBIS World - Australian Industry ReportsContains details reports analysing selected Australian industry sectors. For each sector the report includes Key statistics, market, industry segmentation, industry conditions & performance, industry participants, key factors, 5 year outlook.Help and tips are available online from the IBIS world search screen.
WARCWARC provides access to the full text of significant case studies, statistics, leading edge papers, conference papers and journal articles in the areas of advertising, marketing, branding, media and marketing research. Help and tips are available online from the WARC search screen.

Complete list of Marketing databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list


Full text not available?

When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available

Database search tips

For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library


Key internet sites for Marketing

It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly information found on the web.

This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches using search engines

Useful starters

Market research

  • Market research portal Compiled by industry professionals the portal offers market research related articles and findings, as well as definitions and explanations of market research techniques.
  • AC Nielsen Australian market research company that provides market information, information management tools, analytical systems and methodologies.
  • Australian Television Audience Measurement (OzTAM) Established and owned by the three commercial networks, OzTAM is the official source for television audience measurement (TAM) data in Australia, covering all metropolitan free to air networks and national subscription television.
  • Roy Morgan Research Australia’s longest established market research and public opinion polling company, providing research services on a global scale.

Advertising rates

  • Regional Radioworks Owner of commercial radio stations and representative of independent radio stations.
  • SBS Website of the Special Broadcasting Service, Australia's multicultural and multilingual public broadcaster. Features information on their television and radio activities.
  • News.com.au Published by News Limited, an Australian media organisation, this news site features national and international content.
  • Fairfax Digital Network The online presence of the Australian media organisation Fairfax Media Limited. The site links to Fairfax's 30+ websites, details products and services available and provides updates on Fairfax news.

Relevant associations and organisations

  • American Marketing Association A professional association for marketers worldwide. Includes an online marketing library, membership information and job page.
  • Australian Marketing Institute Represents professional marketers throughout Australia. Their website includes links to articles, podcasts and marketing information.
  • Market Research Society An international organisation for professional market researchers, featuring publications and statistical information.
  • Institute of Marketing Malaysia Non profit professional body for Malaysian sales and marketing practitioners. Features information about the association and its activities.

Government information

  • Austrade Australia's export and investment facilitation agency.
  • Productivity Commission The Australian Government's principal advisory body on microeconomic policy. Includes publications, media releases, information about the commission and employment.


For further information about any of these resources please contact the Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk

Coordinated by: BUE Academic Library Services Team