UniSA Library
| Jump to Content


Information systems



Starting point for Information systems

Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews

Key online dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Van Nostrand’s scientific encyclopedia Coverage of major scientific topics from Wiley
Ontologies: a handbook of principles, concepts and applications in information systemsVia SpringerLink. Volume 14 of the series Integrated Series in Information Systems. Other volumes are also available.
Information systems action research: an applied view of emerging concepts and methodsVia SpringerLink. Volume 13 of the series Integrated Series in Information Systems. Other volumes are also available.

Key print dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Use the catalogue to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks


Catalogue searching

You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials

If you know the exact title in the New catalogue

If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue

Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.

More information


Databases and journal articles for Information systems

Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or research reports

Key databases for Information systems

Databases Notes Help
ACM Digital LibraryProvides access to bibliographic information, abstracts and reviews in the area of computingHelp and tips are available online from the ACM search screen
CompendexInternational bibliographic database that indexes engineering and applied science journals, conferences and technical reportsHelp and tips are available online from the Compendex search screen.
INSPECInternational bibliographic database for electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineeringHelp and tips are available online from the INSPEC search screen
IEEEXploreProvides full text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings, and all current IEEE standards.Help and tips are available online from each search screen
ScienceDirectInternational full text database for scientific research. Subject coverage includes the life, medical, technical, social and physical sciences.An online video is available from the Library home page - Online Training. Help and tips are available online from the Science Direct search screen.

Complete list of Information systems databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list


Full text not available?

When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available

Database search tips

For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library


Key internet sites for Information systems

It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly information found on the web.

This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches using search engines

Useful starters

Professional Organisations

Government Organisations

  • Science, Technology & Innovation The South Australian Governments approach to developing the State's science, technology & innovation infrastructure and strategies.


For further information about any of these resources please contact the Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk

Coordinated by: ITEE Academic Library Services Team