UniSA Library
| Jump to Content


Anatomy



Starting point for Anatomy

Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews

Key online dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Anatomy at a glance Concise work written primarily in note form with accompanying illustrations, designed for rapid revision. Clinical notes included where appropriate
Atlas of vascular anatomy: an angiographic approachThis atlas uses a combination of colour illustrations and angiographic images to comprehensively map the vascular system by body region
Clinical anatomy: a revision and applied anatomy for clinical students Aimed at the student, this concise illustrated work by Clinical Anatomist Professor Harold Ellis is divided into six parts – Thorax, Abdomen and Pelvis, Upper Limb, Lower Limb, Head and Neck, and Central Nervous System
Guide to dissection of the human body This comprehensive manual provides guidance in dissection of the human body

Key print dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Use the catalogue to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks


Catalogue searching

You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials

If you know the exact title in the New catalogue

If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue

Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.

More information


Databases and journal articles for Anatomy

Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or research reports

Key databases for Anatomy

Databases Notes Help
Allied and complementary medicine (AMED)A bibliographic database produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library. It covers complementary medicine, palliative care, and the allied health professionsHelp is available from any search screen within the database
EMBASE A medical database with particularly good coverage of drug literature. The emphasis is on European sourcesHelp is available from any search screen within the database
MEDLINE/PubMedThe United States National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database covering medicine, nursing, biomedical sciences, pharmacy and allied health. Also freely available as PubMedHelp is available from any search screen within the database
ScienceDirectScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and technology literature. It gives access to full text and bibliographic informationHelp is available from any search screen within the database
SCOPUSScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. A multidisciplinary database, it includes international coverage of the anatomical sciences. Also provides cited reference searchingHelp is available from any screen within the database
Web of Science Multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 prestigious, high impact research journals. Also provides cited reference searchingHelp is available from any search screen within the database

Complete list of Biological sciences databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list


Full text not available?

When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available

Database search tips

For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library


Key internet sites for Anatomy

It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly information found on the web.

This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches using search engines

Useful starters

Atlases

  • Atlas of human embryology Charts, images and diagrams are provided with accompanying text. A range of aspects are covered, including “general embryology” (e.g. fertilisation) and “special embryology” (e.g. sense organs). Developed by private company Chronolab, Switzerland
  • The whole brain atlas Hosted by Harvard University and developed by staff from Harvard and MIT, this site contains MR, CT and nuclear medicine images as well as movies. Normal and diseased brains are portrayed, with interactivity permitting selection of brain sections

Online reference works

  • Anatomy of the human body This free online version of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body (20th edition, published 1918) is fully searchable. It includes a subject index and 1, 247 illustrations

Educational resources – tutorials, quizzes, etc

  • Courseware (SUNY Downstate Medical Center) Available are the Human Anatomy Dissector (a step-by-step guide to dissection with quiz) Histology Lab Manual, a neuroanatomy atlas, virtual reality brain dissections (rotatable) and movies of dissections
  • WebAnatomy (University of Minnesota) This site provides quizzes for entry-level students of anatomy and physiology, covering a broad range of topics including organ systems, cells, medical terms, muscles and skin. Diagrams are provided with multiple choice questions, and answers provided

Professional associations

  • American Association of Anatomists AAA members include students, researchers and professionals with a focus on anatomical form and function. The organisation produces publications, facilitates networking, offers awards and serves a government advocacy role
  • American Association of Clinical Anatomists AACA membership is open to professionals and students. The Association holds meetings, produces publications and has as objectives the promotion of research, publication and high professional educational standards
  • The Anatomical Society of Great Britain and Ireland The primary role of ASGBI is “promotion, development and advancement of the anatomical and related sciences”. The Society acts as a forum for educators and researchers, offers awards, convenes meetings and produces publications
  • European Association of Clinical Anatomy EACA holds a meeting every two years. It has a promotional and networking role in research and education, and membership is open only to qualified professionals


For further information about any of these resources please contact the Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk

Coordinated by: Health Sciences Academic Library Services Team