Computer science
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+computer +database
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +computer +database +architecture
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Computer science
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| ACM digital library | Provides access to bibliographic information, abstracts and full text access to ACM journals, magazines, transactions and conference proceedings | Help and tips available from any search page |
| Inspec | Bibliographic and abstract database covering the fields of electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering | Help and search hints available on each screen |
| Computer Database | Bibliographic and abstract database with some full text access to business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications and electronic industries | Help and tips available from each search screen |
| IEEEXplore | Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings, and all current IEEE standards | Help available from every page |
| Science Direct | Provides access to bibliographic information, abstracts and the full text of many publications in the life, medical, technical, social, physical sciences and engineering | Help and an interactive tutorial are available from Science Direct. A video is available in the Online Training section of the Library website |
| Compendex | Bibliographic records of thousands of engineering journals, conferences and technical reports covering engineering and applied science research | Help and tips are available online from the Compendex search screen |
Complete list of Computer science databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example email and security
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
email e-mail
security privacy
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
email or e-mail
and
secur* or privacy
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example secur* finds secure, secured, security and so on and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- CiteSee is a scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science
- CogPrints: Cognitive Sciences E-print Archive Searchable archive of research papers and articles on cognitive sciences, including computer science. The site was developed by the Department of Electronics and Computer Science at the University of Southampton, England
- FreeTechBooks.com Provides links to free online computer science and engineering books and lecture notes, all of which are freely and legally available over the internet
- Intute: Science Engineering & Technology: Computing Links to websites in computing with a focus on education and research provided by a network of UK universities and partners
- WWW Virtual Library: Computing and Computer Science Provides information about W3C activities, standards and technologies provided by the W3C an international consortium which develops Web standards and guidelines
- Australian Computer Society is the public voice of the ICT profession and the guardian of professional ethics and standards in the ICT industry
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: ITEE Academic Library Services Team