Health
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
| Encyclopedia of health & behavior | Covers topics related to the field of health psychology and behavioural medicine |
| Encyclopedia of public health | Covers a range of topics such as as environmental health, drug abuse, epidemiology, nutrition, demographics, and diseases. Includes overviews, definitions, and biographical entries |
| The Gale encyclopedia of children’s health | Entries cover every major body system by five main types: diseases and disorders; development; immunizations; drugs; and procedures. Emphasis on the health issues affecting children under the age of four |
| Gale encyclopedia of nursing and allied health | Entries cover topics in body systems and functions, diseases, theories, techniques, devices and equipment. The roles of health professionals are discussed. Contains information on foot care |
| Illustrated dictionary and resource directory of environmental and occupational health | Covers interrelated topics on environmental health and preventive medicine |
| Merck manual of health & aging | Covers the physical, social, legal and ethical aspects of aging and aged care |
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+health +nutrition
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +health +nutrition +exercise
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Health
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| Allied and complementary medicine (AMED) | A bibliographic database produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library. It covers complementary medicine, palliative care, and the allied health professions | Help is available from any search screen within the database |
| CINAHL | A bibliographic databases covering international literature in nursing and allied health | Help is available from any search screen within the database |
| Health source: Nursing/Academic edition | Full text database focusing on many medical disciplines, especially nursing and allied health. Also has bibliographic records from many other journals | Help is available from any search screen within the database |
| Informit Health | This is a subject collection of bibliographic and full text Australian databases covering various aspects of medicine and health. | Help is available from any search screen within the database |
| MEDLINE | The United States National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database covering medicine, nursing, biomedical sciences, pharmacy and allied health | Help is available from any search screen within the database |
Complete list of Health databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example health AND nutrition
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
health, healthy, healthiness, healthier
nutrition, nutritional, nutritionally, diet, dieting, dietetics
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
health OR healthy OR healthiness OR healthier
and
nutrition OR nutritional OR nutritionally OR diet OR dietary OR dieting OR dietetics
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example health* finds health, healthy, healthiness, healthier and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Health Canada Information from the Federal department responsible for helping Canadians maintain and improve their health.
- Health encyclopaedia From NHS Direct (UK) this encyclopaedia provides topic information A-Z and information by body part
- HealthInsite: A-Z health topics Quality assessed information on important health topics. An Australian Government initiative, funded by the Department of Health and Ageing
- Intute: health & life sciences Created by a network of UK universities and partners, Intute provides access to evaluated education and research web resources in the nursing, midwifery and allied health professions including podiatry and foot care resources
- virtualmedicalcentre.com An Australian site containing medical information written by medical professionals. Covers areas such as children’s health, men’s health, women’s health diseases and drugs
- World Health Organization The World Health Organization directs and coordinates health within the United Nations system. The website contains information on health topics, countries, publications, statistics and projects.
- American Academy of Pediatrics Provides information on advocacy and research and contains links to current news, fulltext information on topics such as immunisation, and policy statements
- KidsHealth From the Nemours Foundation in the United States. Contains peer-reviewed information on topics such as infections, behaviour, food and fitness
- MedlinePlus: Children's Health Contains links to directories, organisations, clinical trials & research, health check tools. Aimed mainly at consumers
- Health promotion Selected by Jan Badcock of Flinders University. Australian and international resources are included
- Health Promotion Research Center Based in the University of Washington the Centre is on of 33 prevention research centres in the U.S. Its core research is physical activity and healthy aging.
- Public Health Information Development Unit Established by the Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing and based at the University of Adelaide, the Unit’s major focus is the “development and publication of small area statistics for monitoring inequality in health and wellbeing”. The site provides access to a variety of statistical publications including the Social Health Atlas of South Australia.
- Health of Men This is a UK Health forum and funded database project to improve the health and wellbeing of men and boys
- Centre for Men’s Health (UK) The Centre part of Leeds Metropolitan University has the world's first Professor of Men's Health Prof. Alan White who is keen to promote men’s and boys’ health
- Men’s Health Centre Part of the Virtual Medical Centre.com, it covers health, care information and resources for men in Australia
- Australian Women’s Health Network AWHN is a non-profit, consultative organisation that provides a national voice on women's health issues including advocacy and policy
- Key Centre for Women’s Health in Society From the University of Melbourne, the Centre is a leading centre for research, advocacy and education in women's health, in Australia and the Asia-Pacific region
- healthywomen.org National Women’s Health Resource Center website (US). This is a non-profit centre which is an independent health information source for women
- Women’s Health Australia Australian longitudinal study on women’s health. The project conducts surveys with Australian women who were aged 18-23, 45-50, and 70-75 when the project began in 1996
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: Health Sciences Academic Library Services Team