Systems engineering
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
| Handbook of industrial and systems engineering | Covers tools, techniques and the fundamentals of industrial and systems engineering. |
| Competitive engineering: a handbook for systems engineering, requirements engineering, and software engineering using Planguage | Provides tools and techniques to effectively design, manage and deliver results in any organization - in engineering, industry, systems engineering, software, IT, the service sector and beyond. |
| The requirements engineering handbook | A handbook on requirements analysis, development, and management for planned systems and software in both computing and engineering, Includes real-world examples. |
| CRC handbook of engineering tables | A one-stop resource for the data that engineers around the world rely upon. |
| The electronics handbook | Provides reference to the key concepts, models, and equations necessary to analyse, design, and predict the behaviour of complex electrical devices, circuits, instruments, and systems. |
| The engineering handbook | An engineering reference for industry, government, and academia. |
| Digital systems and applications | Covers advances in computer system technologies and reflects on new developments, trends and standards in this field. |
| Van Nostrand’s scientific encyclopedia | Multidisciplinary encyclopedia with many articles relating to software engineering. |
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+systems +engineering +planning
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +systems +engineering +planning +design
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Systems engineering
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| ACM Digital Library | Provides access to bibliographic information, abstracts and reviews in the area of computing | Help and tips are available online from the ACM search screen |
| Compendex | International bibliographic database that indexes engineering and applied science journals, conferences and technical reports | Help and tips are available online from the Compendex search screen. |
| IEEEXplore | Provides full text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings, and all current IEEE standards. | Help and tips are available online from each search screen |
| INSPEC | International bibliographic database for electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering | Help and tips are available online from the INSPEC search screen |
| ScienceDirect | International full text database for scientific research. Subject coverage includes the life, medical, technical, social and physical sciences | An online video is available from the Library home page - Online Training. Help and tips are available online from the Science Direct search screen |
| Scopus | Multidisciplinary scientific database with bibliographic records from journals, conference proceedings, book series, websites and patents | Help, including an interactive tutorial, available from every page |
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example systems engineering AND manag*
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
systems engineering, systems analysis, systems theory
management, administration, process
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
systems engineering OR systems analysis
and
manag*
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example manag* finds manage, managing, management, managers and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Intute: Science, Engineering and Technology Links to internet resources on systems engineering with a focus on education and research provided by a network of UK universities and partners.
- TechXtra Provides articles, websites, books, industry news, job announcements, ejournals, eprints, technical reports and research in engineering, mathematics and computing
- IEEE A non-profit organization and professional association for the advancement of technology
- Engineers Australia Provides information for engineers and is the national forum for the advancement of engineering in Australia.
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: ITEE Academic Library Services Team