Human rights and Social justice
Starting point for
Human rights and Social justice
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
| Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary | This reference work contains over 25,000 definitions. Terms are presented in an Australiancontext and are supported by Australian legislative and judicial authority.The definitions cover every subject area of law |
| Dictionary of Human Rights | Covers one of the most important issues in the world today, providing clear definitions combined with up-to-date information on the arena of human rights. |
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+"human rights" +race
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +"human rights" +race +Australia
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Human rights and Social justice
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
Key databases for Human rights and Social justice
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| MAIS multicultural Australia and immigration studies | Subject coverage includes immigration, emigration, multiculturalism, ethnicity, racism, migrant health, social access and equity, social services, refugees, population studies, and aboriginal studies. A subset on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders is available through ATSIROM. | Online help available from search page |
| Informit Indigenous databases | A suite of databases containing selected bibliographic records relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people | Online help available from search screen. |
| APAFT Australian public affairs full text | Covers current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences and is produced by the National Library of Australia | Help available from search screen. |
| Family & society plus | Subject coverage includes child development, adolescence, marriage and divorce, adoption, foster care, child abuse, domestic violence, family law, housing, health policy and services, population studies, social and community services, child care, family economics, employment | Indexed help available from database home page and search screen |
| Social services abstracts | CSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development | Comprehensive help and online tutorials available from search screen |
Complete list of Social policy databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example family breakdown and children
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
family breakdown, family relations,divorce, seperation
child, children, young people, youth, adolescent
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
family breakdown OR family relations OR divorce OR seperation
and
child OR children OR young people OR youth* OR adolescent
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example youth* finds youth, youths, youthful and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Amnesty International An international organisation who campaign for internationally recognized human rights for all.
- Centre for social justice The Centre for Social Justice (CSJ) conducts research, education and advocacy on issues of equality and democracy, both in Canada and around the world.
- Human rights watch Human Rights Watch is dedicated to protecting the human rights of people around the world.
- Global justice Global Justice acts as the umbrella organization for a growing number of student advocacy campaigns aimed at promoting a more responsible and engaged US foreign policy.
- European Court of Human Rights An international court to ensure the rights and guarantees set out in the Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms
- AusAid The Australian Government's overseas aid program is a federally funded program that aims to reduce poverty in developing countries.
- The Human Rights Council of Australia The Human Rights Council of Australia Inc is a private non-government organization which promotes understanding of and respect for human rights for all persons without discrimination through adherence to the International Bill of Rights, and other human rights instruments, internationally and within Australia
- Human rights act for Australia A website that advocates the establishment of an Australian Human Rights act and discusses its implications for Australians.
- Justice Action Justice Action is a community-based organisation comprising criminal justice and prison reform activists.
- Civil and human rights Parliamentary library resoures and documents in the area of federal civil and human rights law, as well as providing links to other guides and directories which contain material on State and Territory and overseas law.
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: EASS Academic Library Services Team