UniSA Library
| Jump to Content


International Art Galleries and Museums



Starting point for International Art Galleries, Museums and Organisations

Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews

Key online dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Museums and galleriesA guide to over 1,800 museums and galleries in England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales
Museum basicsAims to provide an outline of best practice for museums by drawing on the experiences of a number of international museum curators.

Key print dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Use the catalogue to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks


Catalogue searching

You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials

If you know the exact title in the New catalogue

If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue

Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.

More information


Databases and journal articles for International Art Galleries, Museums and Organisations

Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or research reports

Key databases for International Art Galleries, Museums and Organisations

Databases Notes Help
ARTbibliographies modern ARTbibliographies Modern provides abstracting and indexing of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. The database covers the period from Impressionism in the late 19th century up to the most recent works and trends of the late 20th century.Help is available from the CSA search page.
Grove art online Grove Dictionary of Art Online provides access to over 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory through the present including biographies; bibliographies; external images; contributors; caption keywords. Also includes access to over 100,000 images from the Bridgeman Art Library. Help is available from the Grove Art Online search page.
Art abstractsArt Abstract database provides abstracting and indexing for over 400 international art publications, including periodicals, conference proceedings, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.Help is available from the EbscoHost database search screen.

Complete list of Visual art and communication databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list


Full text not available?

When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available

Database search tips

For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library


Key internet sites for International Art Galleries, Museums and Organisations

It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly information found on the web.

This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches using search engines

Useful starters

The Americas

  • Art Gallery of Nova Scotia The mission of this Canadian Art Gallery is to serve the public by bringing the visual arts and people together in an environment which encourages exploration, dialogue and enjoyment.
  • Art Gallery of Ontario This gallery exhibits its collection in 50 galleries. The gallery is committed to research about the art of our time and the past.
  • National Gallery of Canada Inaugurated in 1880, the mandate of the gallery is to develop, maintain and make known through Canada and internationally a national collection of works of art.
  • Museo de Arte Moderno Contains work by David Alfaro Siguaros, Jose Clemente Crozco, Diego Rivera, Oliverio Martinez, Frida Kahlo and Cordelia Ureta and others. The gallery shows representative works of South American artists.
  • Museo Nacional del Prado Has an extensive collection of paintings as well as drawings, etchings, coins and medals, sumptuary and decorative art.
  • National Gallery of Art This Washington collection illustrates major achievements in painting, sculpture and graphic arts from the middle ages to the present.

Europe

  • Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium This site comprises the Museum of Ancient Art and the Museum of Modern Art. It is the country's largest museum and the various collections range from the XIVth century to the present day.
  • Modern Museum Collection includes 30,000 watercolors, drawings, graphics and 20,000 photographs (Sweden)
  • Staatliche Museen zu Berlin Berlin's 17 state museums were united in 1991. They embrace the areas of European and extra-European art, archaeology and ethnology
  • Uffizi Gallery Created by the Medici in the XVIth century the Uffizi in Florence appears in the specialized form of a pinacotheca.
  • Rijksmuseum Amsterdam Has an internationally renowned collection based around the paintings of the 17th century Dutch Republic. There are also collections of silver, delftware, dolls houses, prints, drawings and Asian art
  • Centre for Contemporary Art This centre has exhibitions, performances, presentations of visual theatre, concerts of contemporary music, sharing of experimental films, video art, creative workshops and interdisciplinary events.

France, Ireland and the UK

  • Le Louvre Established in 1793 by the French Republic the Louvre collection incorporates works dating from birth of the great antique civilizations right up to the first half of the XIXth century.
  • National Gallery of Ireland The collection spans from the XIVth to the XXth century and includes all the major continental schools. Irish painting is charted from its re-emergence in the XVIIth to XXth artists
  • British Museum Founded in 1753. This collection spans two million years of human history and houses a collection of art and antiquities from ancient and living cultures
  • National Gallery Houses the national collection of western European painting. It covers every European school of painting from 1260 - 1900
  • Royal Academy of Arts It is a permanent collection comprising of examples of British art from the 18th century to present day.
  • Tate Gallery The Tate operates on four sites in different parts of Britain. It houses the national collection of British art from the 16th century to the present day including the Turner bequest and the natural collection of international modern art.

Asia

  • Museums in Hong Kong A site maintained by the Leisure and Cultural Services department of the Government of Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.
  • National Palace Museum Inaugurated in 1925, the museum has as its mission the protection and preservation of the 7000 year cultural legacy of China and to showcase the collection to the global community. From Taiwan.
  • Israel Museum This is Israel's national museum which showcases the cultural heritage of the Jewish people and Israel
  • Osaka National Museum of Art The main purpose of the museum is to show with exhibitions, how Japanese art developed in close relation to the art of the world, without restrictions or regional divisions.
  • Pushkin Museum of Fine Arts Collections cover periods of history from ancient times to the New Age and are represented in plaster casts, maquetta, pictorial and galvanic copies.
  • Asia Society Dedicated to fostering understanding of Asia and communication between America and the people of Asia and the Pacific. It is a non profit, non political educational institution founded in 1956 by John D Rockerfeller 3rd located in New York.
  • Tokugawa Art Museum Japan Establishes under the non profit Tikugawa Reimeikau foundation in 1935. At the core of the collection are objects inherited from the first shogun Ieyasu.

Other Regions

  • Durban Art Gallery Its collecting focus is concentrated on works which reflect the rich multi-cultural diversity of Durban and South Africa.
  • Art Crimes A gallery of graffiti art from cities around the world which includes more than 3000 images.
  • The Alternative Museum An experiment in global sharing of art and culture in a way that has never been possible with traditional institutions.


For further information about any of these resources please contact the Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk

Coordinated by: EASS Academic Library Services Team