UniSA Library
| Jump to Content


Law



Starting point for Law

Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews

Key online dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Australian Guide to Legal Citation (2nd ed)Designed for academics, legal practitioners, law students and the judiciary. The style guide adopted by the School of Law at the University of South Australia for legal writing and research.
Australian Legal Words & PhrasesWords and phrases defined in legislation or judicially interpreted in the Australian superior courts and selected tribunals.
CaseBase Case Citator AbbreviationsIndex of abbreviations for law reports and journals.
Encyclopaedic Australian Legal DictionaryTerms are presented in an Australian context and are supported by Australian legislative and judicial authority.
FirstPoint Table of AbbreviationsIndex of abbreviations for law reports and journals.
Halsbury's Laws of AustraliaLegal encyclopaedia covering Australian law. Includes definitive statements of the law supported by primary authority contained in detailed footnotes.

Key print dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Use the catalogue to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks


Catalogue searching

You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials

If you know the exact title in the New catalogue

If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue

Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.

More information


Databases and journal articles for Law

Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or research reports

Key databases for Law

Databases Notes Help
AGIS Plus textIndexing and some full text of journal articles on all aspects of law. Australian, New Zealand and Pacific law focus with some selected articles from major US, Canadian and UK law journals.Help and tips are available online from the AGIS Plus Text search screen.
Australian Legal Journals Index Contains journal abstracts, cases referred to, legislative references, key-citing information by jurisdiction. Contains links to some full text online journals, authorised and specialist law reports, plus links to FirstPoint. Help and tips are available online from the Australian Legal Journals Index search screen.
CCH LibraryAustralian legislation, law reports, digests, cases and legal guides in a range of areas of law including topics such as industrial law, trade practices, taxation and occupational health and safety. Help and tips are available online from the CCH Library search screen.
Index to Legal Periodicals Full TextIndexes legal journals, books, law reviews and many other publications. Includes full text of selected periodicals. International coverage including periodicals from the US, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand. Help and tips are available online from the Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text search screen.
Justis United Kingdom cases and legislation dating back to 1220 including coverage of The Law Reports, The Weekly Law Reports, English Reports, Daily Cases and The Times Law Reports. Citation information available through JustCite.Help and tips are available online from the Justis search screen.
Legal Online Australian case law and commentary including the Commonwealth Law Reports, Federal Court Reports and Federal Law Reports. Help and tips are available online from the Legal Online search screen.
Lawlex Full text database providing links to Australian legislation, amendment and commencement information, and progress of bills through the Premium Research facility. Help and tips are available online from the Lawlex search screen.
LexisNexis AU Australian cases, legislation and commentary including CaseBase, Unreported Judgments, Halsbury's Laws of Australia and Australian Current Law. Also includes the New Zealand Law Reports and the All England Reports. Help and tips are available online from the LexisNexis AU search screen.
Westlaw International cases, legislation and commentary with citation information available for US and Canadian cases through KeyCite. Help and tips are available online from the Westlaw search screen.

Complete list of Law databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list


Full text not available?

When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available

Database search tips

For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library


Key internet sites for Law

It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly information found on the web.

This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches using search engines

Useful starters

Court websites

  • Federal Court of Australia Features information about the Federal Court, its role and responsibilities. Also provides links, information for litigants and practitioners, court documents and judgements.
  • High Court of Australia Includes information about the High Court and its role. Also includes publications, justices, web links and an online library.

South Australian

  • Parliament of South Australia Details the processes of the South Australian Parliament and its history. Also includes resources, including a glossary, Hansard and Bills.
  • South Australian Legislation Access to South Australian legislation. Includes information about the creation, variation or cessation of legislation. Updated every weekday.

Australian

  • ATO legal database Online database featuring legislation, case law and policy information from the Australian Taxation Office.
  • AustLII Australasian Legal Information Institute. Includes legislation, superior courts and tribunal decisions, journals and some overseas legal information. Can access other Legal information Institutes/World Law Resources from this site.
  • ComLaw Provides low or no-cost access to Commonwealth law. Maintained by the Australian Attorney-General's Department.
  • Parliament of Australia Includes publications detailing events in the Senate and the House of Representatives. Also provides access to other resources, including the Hansard and Bills.

International

  • British and Irish Legal information Institute (BaiLII) Access to full text copies of the Acts of Parliament, Statutory Instruments and case law. Also includes links to other legal information institutes. Can access other Legal information Institutes/World Law Resources from this site.
  • LII: Legal Information Institute Research and electronic publishing activity of the Cornell Law School. Popular collections include: the U.S. Code, Supreme Court opinions, and Wex. North American focus.
  • WorldLII Searches 270 databases from 48 jurisdictions in 20 countries, covering legislation, case law, high court decisions, journals, treaties, law reform, domain name decisions, and secondary materials. Can access other Legal information Institutes/World Law Resources from this site.


For further information about any of these resources please contact the Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk

Coordinated by: BUE Academic Library Services Team