Defence
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+military +warfare
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +military +warfare +systems
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Defence
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| Academic search premier | Multidisciplinary database that covers the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies and education with many articles in full text | Help and tips are available online from any search screen |
| APAFT (Australian public affairs full text) | Provides indexing and selected full text access to Australian literature in business, health, social sciences and humanities. | Help and tips are available online from the APAFT search screen |
| Compendex | International bibliographic database that indexes engineering and applied science journals, conferences and technical reports | Help and tips are available online from the Compendex search screen. |
| IEEEXplore | Provides full text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings, and all current IEEE standards. | Help and tips are available online from each search screen |
| INSPEC | International bibliographic database for electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering | Help and tips are available online from the INSPEC search screen |
| ScienceDirect | International full text database for scientific research. Subject coverage includes the life, medical, technical, social and physical sciences | An online video is available from the Library home page - Online Training. Help and tips are available online from the Science Direct search screen |
| Scopus | Multidisciplinary scientific database with bibliographic records from journals, conference proceedings, book series, websites and patents. | Help, including an interactive tutorial, available from every page |
| Web of Science | Bibliographic database that covers the sciences, social sciences and arts & humanities. | Help and tips are available online from the Web of Science search screen. |
Complete list of Engineering databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example warfare and weapons
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
warfare, war, wars
weapon, weapons, arms
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
warfare or war or wars
and
weapon* or arms
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example weapon* finds weapon, weapons, weaponry and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Defence Intelligence Organisation An intelligence assessment agency that provides services and advice at the national level. Its mandate is to support Defence and Government decision-making and assist with the planning and conduct of Australian Defence Force operations.
- Australia Defence Association An independent, non-partisan, community-based, public-interest organisation and ‘think-tank’ on defence and wider national security issues.
- Australian Strategic Policy Institute An independent, non-partisan policy institute. Set up by the government to inform the public on strategic and defence issues and provide fresh ideas on Australia's defence and strategic policy choices.
- Defense Information Systems Agency A combat support agency responsible for planning, engineering, acquiring, fielding, and supporting global net-centric solutions to serve the needs of the United States under all conditions of peace and war.
- United States Department of Defense The federal department charged with coordinating and supervising all agencies and functions of the government relating directly to national security and the military.
- Australian Defence College (ADC) Through its three primary institutions the ADC promotes learning and growth of leaders and managers who have professional interest in national and international defence and security issues
- Centre for Defence and Strategic Studies (CDSS) Part of the ADC, the centre is responsible for providing Australian and overseas participants with the knowledge and skills required to operate at the strategic level in a complex and modern security environment.
- Australian Defence Force Academy (ADFA) Part of the ADC, the academy is a partnership with the University of New South Wales (UNSW) that provides training and education for the future leaders of the Navy, Army and Air Force.
- Strategic and Defence Studies Centre Part of the Research School of Pacific and Asian Studies at the Australian National University. Aims to advance the study of strategic problems, especially those relating to the East Asia and Pacific regions.
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: ITEE Academic Library Services Team