Early childhood education
Starting point for
Early childhood education
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
| Encyclopedia of education [electronic resource] | Offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles, and philosophies in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities and |
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+socialization +child
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +socialization +child +play
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Early childhood education
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
Key databases for Early childhood education
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| ERIC | Education Resources Information Center - is an online digital library of education research and information. Provides a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable, Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information. | Online tutorial and help available from the search screen |
| A+ education | An indexing and full text database that provides Internet access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on all aspects of education. Source documents include journal articles, monographs, research reports, theses, conference papers, legislation, parliamentary debates, newspaper articles, tests and web. Articles and reports by Australian authors or about A | Search help available online via Informit search page |
| Education a SAGE full-text collection | This database includes the full text of 22 journals.Covers such subjects as Adult and continuing education, assessment, multilingual education, content areas, curriculum, early childhood education, educational administration, educational policy, educational psychology, elementary and primary education, family and community, high school and secondary education, higher education | Online help and support available on search page |
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example pre-school and multicultural
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
pre-school, day care, kindergarten
diversity, cultural diversity
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
kindergarten or pre-school
and
cultural awareness or diversity
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example cultur? finds culture,cultures,cultural,cultured and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Early childhood Australia Early Childhood Australia is the peak early childhood advocacy organisation, acting in the interests of young children, their families and those in the early childhood field
- Indicators of Development from Birth to Four Years this site contains a list of broad developmental milestones through the early years
- Department of Education and Children's Services The website outlines the early childhood services available in South Australia
- Lady Gowrie Child Centre Inc promotes better practice in children's services through professional advice, support and training. Lady Gowrie Child Centres in each state capital city provide a range of programmes to support professionals working in children's services, such as offering training and access to resource centres. A feature of the site is a knowledge base of information
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: EASS Academic Library Services Team