Australian Art Galleries, Museums and Organisations
Starting point for
Australian Art Galleries, Museums and Organistions
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
| Museums and galleries | A guide to over 1,800 museums and galleries in England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales |
| Museum basics | Aims to provide an outline of best practice for museums by drawing on the experiences of a number of international museum curators. |
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+"art gallery" +exhibit
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +"art gallery" +exhibit +"south australian"
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Australian Art Galleries, Museums and Organistions
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
Key databases for Australian Art Galleries, Museums and Organistions
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| ARTbibliographies modern | ARTbibliographies Modern provides abstracting and indexing of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. The database covers the period from Impressionism in the late 19th century up to the most recent works and trends of the late 20th century. | Help is available from the CSA search page. |
| Grove art online | Grove Dictionary of Art Online provides access to over 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory through the present including biographies; bibliographies; external images; contributors; caption keywords. Also includes access to over 100,000 images from the Bridgeman Art Library. | Help is available from the Grove Art Online search page. |
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example Australian museum and curating
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
Australian museum, Australian gallery
curating, curatorship, management
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
Australian museum OR Australian gallery
and
curat? OR management
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example curat? finds curate, curates, curator, curators, curatorship, curating, and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
Key internet sites for
Australian Art Galleries, Museums and Organisations
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Arts Law Centre of Australia The national community legal centre for the arts.
- Arts Hub Provides news, information on jobs and events, and other key information for Australian arts workers.
- Visual Arts Net A site that acts as a gateway to Australian visual arts and crafts. It has a search facility, a site users forum, events and announcements and a practical advice component.
- Culture and Recreation Portal The online gateway to Australian cultural organisations, websites, resources, events and news.
- National Archives of Australia Commonwealth government records. Include posters, reports, maps, photographs, paintings, films, electronic records and audio and film tapes such as news broadcasts from the ABC.
- Fuel4arts Provides access to people and information in relation to arts marketing. A project of the Australia Council, the Commonwealth Government's arts funding and advisory body.
- Collections Australia Network Lists Australian museums and Art galleries, as well as promoting exhibitions.
- Picture Australia The National Library of Australia's Pictures Collection contains over 15,000 historical and contemporary images relating to Australia and its place in the world.
- Wollongong City Gallery The largest regional art museum in Australia, with a major collection of contemporary Australian, Aboriginal and Illawarra colonial art.
- Queensland Art Gallery An innovative and dynamic visual arts centre designed by Robin Gibson and partners. The collection contains over 10,000 international and Australian paintings, sculptures, decorative art objects and works on paper.
- Contemporary Art Centre of South Australia : CACSA An independent art space sharing contemporary Australian artists works concentrating on South Australian artists. The CACSA provides exhibition, curatorial, publishing and other opportunities for contemporary arts practitioners.
- Riddoch Art Gallery Mount Gambier regional gallery that maintains a permanent collection of historical and contemporary Australian and European art
- Tandanya Tandanya exhibitions are housed in the large gallery complex, which also provides the backdrop for cultural performances and ceremonial events involving the wider community
- Hahndorf Academy The Hahndorf Academy is a regional centre for the arts and heritage set in the historic town of Hahndorf in the Adelaide Hills, South Australia. Based in a charming 150 year old building the Academy incorporates four galleries, a migration museum, artists' studios, art classes and a retail gallery.
- Jam Factory Integrated organisation for the design, production, exhibition and sale of work by Australian designers / makers located in South Australia.
- Experimental Art Foundation (EAF) Represents new work that expands current debates and ideas in contemporary art and culture. It incorporates a gallery space, bookshop and artists' studios.
- Ann & Gordon Samstag Museum of Art The Samstag Museum aims to stimulate, challenge and engage its audiences with a program of diverse and innovative exhibitions, publications and associated public activities.
- History Trust Museums The History Trust manages the Migration Museum, South Australian Maritime Museum & National Motor Museum and encourages the community to enjoy, understand, preserve and benefit from South Australia's rich and distinctive history.
- Adelaide Tram Museum Museum of heritage trams used throughout Australia, including electric, horse-drawn and trolley buses.
- South Australian Aviation Museum Located in Port Adelaide, the Aviation Museum collects items associated with people, places and objects from Australian aviation history.
- Adelaide Gaol and Museum The museum houses an artefacts dating back to the Gaol’s early years, as well as inmate-designed escape instruments confiscated by guards
- National Railway Museum houses the largest undercover collection of locomotives, passenger carriages and freight vehicles in Australia
- Arts NSW Advises the NSW government on all aspects of the arts and cultural activities.
- Artworkers Alliance A centre for the exchange of information, advice and opportunities for visual artists in Queensland.
- Queensland Arts Council Part of the nation wide Arts Council of Australia network that was formed in NSW in 1946. QAC Branches provide a forum for expressing the artistic needs of regional communities.
- Arts WA Aims to provide for the diverse Western Australian community a vibrant and viable environment for the arts and cultural industries through advocacy, investment, industry development initiatives and policy development.
- Arts Tasmania A unit of the Department of State Development. It is the Tasmanian Government's arts agency.
- Arts Victoria Provides a range of programs which are designed to assist in the development presentation of cultural programs which will benefit the Victorian arts.
- Arts Organisations The Creative Industries Skills Council is a not-for-profit industry body run by a Board of business people from the creative industries and the arts
- Arts SA Arts South Australia provides leadership in the strategic development of a strong and sustainable arts and cultural industry in South Australia.
- Country Arts SA Oversees the development of the arts throughout country South Australia by increasing access and participation in the arts and by the development of performing and visual arts touring programs for country regions.
- Craftsouth Centre for Contemporary Craft and Design The major professional body serving the contemporary crafts industry in South Australia. It represents, develops and promotes South Australia's contemporary crafts industry with particular emphasis on the professional practitioner.
- Carclew Youth Arts Centre A youth arts organisation which provides young people with the resources and opportunities to develop as successful and innovative artists and arts workers.
- Gawler Arts Society Gawler's local community art society, comprising of individuals who are interested in art, and collaborate to paint and exhibit artworks
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: EASS Academic Library Services Team