Human services
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
| Encyclopedia of health and behaviour | Includes over 200 entries on topics covering all aspects of health and behaviour. In addition, the Encyclopedia of Health and Behaviour includes a comprehensive set of additional resources with both entries on selected organizations and an appendix. |
| Encyclopedia of sociology | This classic reference has been updated to reflect many changes in society and in the field of sociology in recent years. Articles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion have been updated and expanded. |
| International encyclopedia of the social & behavioural sciences | This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioural sciences on a grand scale. Includes works on Community psychology and Community studies. |
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+community +"mental health"
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +community +"mental health" +promotion
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Human services
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| AGIS plus text | Bibliographic database from the Attorney-General's Information Service that indexes and abstracts articles from published material on all aspects of law. Source documents include over 120 Australian, New Zealand and Asia Pacific law journals and selected articles from major law journals from U.S., Canada and U.K. Subject coverage includes all aspects of law. | Indexed help available from database home page and search screen. |
| APAFT -Australian public affairs full text | Health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, politics and social sciences. | Indexed help available from database home page and search screen. |
| MAIS multicultural Australia and immigration studies | Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts a wide range of media from published and unpublished material on Australian immigration and multicultural issues. Subject coverage includes immigration, emigration, multiculturalism, ethnicity, racism, migrant health, social access and equity, social services, refugees, population studies, and aboriginal studies. | Indexed help available from database home page and search screen. |
| CSA Sociological abstracts | CSA Sociological Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences. | User guide available from access screen. Training and support available from the database search page. Includes searchable index and online tutorials. |
| Social services abstracts | CSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development | Training and support available from the database search page. Includes searchable index and online tutorials. |
Complete list of Human services databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example youth* and refugee
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
youth , children, adolescents
migrant, immigrant, refugee, displaced person
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
youth or children or adolescence
and
migrant or immigrant or refugee or displaced person
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example youth* finds youth, youths, youthful and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Australian Council of Social Service The Australian Council of Social Service (ACOSS) is the peak council of the community services and welfare sector. Established in 1956, ACOSS is the national voice for the needs of people affected by poverty and inequality.
- National Welfare Rights Network This site provides Information about Social Security law and its administration through Centrelink. Includes helpful factsheets
- Department of Human Services The Human Services Portfolio is about people and the services we may need at different stages of our lives. Together the Portfolio Department and the Portfolio agencies work to improve government social and health-related services to all Australians.
- Department of Health and Ageing It contains essential health and ageing information. The website will be progressively expanded with information on the new government’s policies, programs and priorities for the health and ageing portfolio.
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: EASS Academic Library Services Team