Construction management
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+construction +planning
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +construction +planning +sustain
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Construction management
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
Key databases for Construction management
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| Business Source Complete | Provides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles. | An online video is available from the Library home page - Online Training. Help and tips are available online from the Business Source Complete search screen. |
| Building Code of Australia + Standards | Regulatory reference for the building and construction industry. Codes are published by the Australian Building Codes Board and the standards are from Standards Australia | The Getting Started section of BCA + Standards provides assistance. |
| Emerald management xtra | A full text database that includes reviews from the world's leading management journals, case studies, literature reviews, book reviews, conference information, interviews, profiles and 'How to...' guides. | An online video is available from the Library home page - Online Training. Help and tips are available online from the Emerald search screen. |
| ICONDA | A bibliographic database covering the worldwide literature of all fields of building construction, construction engineering, architecture and town planning | Help and tips are available online from each search screen. |
| Compendex | International bibliographic database that indexes engineering and applied science journals, conferences and technical reports | Help and tips are available online from the Compendex search screen. |
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example soil and construction
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
soil, earth
construction, build*
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
soil or earth
and
construction or build*
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example build* finds build, building, builds and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Building Policy in SA A Planning SA government site for information about South Australia's building policy.
- SafeWork SA Responsible for administering industrial relations legislation and managing all occupational health, safety and welfare functions in our South Australia
- The Australian Institute of Building (AIB) An association of building professionals, associate professionals and technicians engaged in building practice, teaching and research throughout Australia and overseas.
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: ITEE Academic Library Services Team