Art history
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
| Artlex | Artlex contains definitions for more than 3,600 terms |
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+art +history
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +art +history +painting
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Art history
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| Art Abstracts | Provides abstracting and indexing for over 400 international art publications, including periodicals, conference proceedings, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. | Help and tips are available from the Art Abstracts search screen and the EbscoHost Database Guide |
| JSTOR | Provides full text of the core scholarly journals in the arts and sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of the current publication. Use advanced search to browse by journal title or discipline. | Help and tips are available from the JSTOR search screen. |
| Art Bibliographies Modern | Provides abstracting and indexing of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. The database covers the period from Impressionism in the late 19th century up to the most recent works and trends of the late 20th century. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present. | Help and tips are available from the CSA art Bibliographies Modern search screen and the CSA Quick guide. |
| Grove Art online | Provides access to over 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory through the present including biographies; bibliographies; external images; contributors; caption keywords. Also includes access to over 100,000 images from the Bridgeman Art Library. | Help and tips are available from the Grove Art online search screen. |
Complete list of Art databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example symbolism and art
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
symbol*, iconography
painting, sculpture
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
symbol* or iconography
and
painting or sculpture
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example symbol* finds symbol, symbols, symbolism, symbolic and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Association of Art Historians : web resources Links provided by the Association of Art Historians.
- Art History resources on the web Maintained by Chris Witcombe, Professor of Art History, Sweet Briar College, Virginia, U.S.
- Timelines of Art history A chronological, geographical and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated especially by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection.
- World wide art resources : Art history Resources maintained by Marcus Kruse at the Wexner Center for the Arts, Ohio State University.
- Art-guide : collection of art history internet resources Provides access to art history websites, such as subject gateways, image databases, search engines, or mailing lists.ART-Guide is a service of Heidelberg University Library and Dresden Saxon State and University Library.
- Art history research centre Directory to online art history resources
- Art history CC (Enable pop-ups to view this site) Includes artist index, timeline, glossary of art periods, and links
- Art history net Lists famous artists and art periods
- College Art Association Promotes excellence in scholarship and teaching in the history and criticism of the visual arts.
- ArtServe : art and architecture This site offers access to around 80,000 images, all concerned in some way with the history of art and architecture. Department of Art History & Visual Studies at the Australian National University, Australia.
- Medieval art history directory Links to specialist information and images of the paintings, sculptures, books and manuscripts which were created during the middle ages. Also included on this site is a range of information relating to just a few of the many forms of art, characteristic of the medieval period
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: EASS Academic Library Services Team