UniSA Library
| Jump to Content


Glass art



Starting point for Glass art

Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews

Key online dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Glass EncyclopediaReference source on glass (NZ)
Glass: a pocket dictionary of terms commonly used to describe glass and glass makingproduced by the Corning Museum of glass

Key print dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks

Use the catalogue to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks


Catalogue searching

You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials

If you know the exact title in the New catalogue

If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue

Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.

More information


Databases and journal articles for Glass art

Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or research reports

Key databases for Glass art

Databases Notes Help
ARTbibliographies modernProvides abstracting and indexing of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. The database covers the period from Impressionism in the late 19th century up to the most recent works and trends of the late 20th century. A particular emphasis is placed upon adding new and lesser-known artists.A guide is available from the ARTbibliographies modern database access page. Help is available from the Cambridge Scientific Abstracts search screen.
Design and applied arts indexIn addition to the periodicals index, contains four directories: periodicals database, education database, organisations database, and museums/archives database.A guide is available from the Design and applied arts index database access page. Help is available from the Cambridge Scientific Abstracts search screen.
JSTOR Arts & sciences I-IV collectionProvides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the arts and sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts.Help is available from the JSTOR search screen.
Art AbstractsProvides abstracting and indexing for over 400 international art publications, including periodicals, conference proceedings, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Help and tips are available from the Art Abstracts search screen and the EbscoHost Database Guide

Complete list of Art databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list


Full text not available?

When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available

Database search tips

For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library


Key internet sites for Glass art

It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly information found on the web.

This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches using search engines

Useful starters

Professional organisations

  • American craft council A national non profit educational organisation dedicated to fostering craft in America (US)
  • Crafts council Promotes contemporary crafts in Great Britain. It is an independent organisation providing services to crafts people and the public (UK)
  • Glass art society An international non profit organisation to advance the understanding of glass arts (US)

Methods and materials

  • Bullseye glass Started in 1974 in Portland Oregon, US. This company aims to continually involve artists in exploration and new product development (US)
  • Glass notes A site maintained by Henry Halem, author of the book 'Glass Notes'
  • Kersey's glass works An American art glass studio specialising in sand carved and kiln textured glass
  • Scientific glassblowing basics Designed to give the reader experience in performing a series of basic glassblowing seals that can be used in the fabrication and repair of simple to complex glass apparatus and glass systems. Site maintained by the East Carolina University (US)

Museums

  • Corning museum of glass This site in New York State educates the world about the art and history of glass and glass making (US)
  • Historical glass museum Open since 1985 and has displays of American glassware dating from the early 1800's. Links to other sites (US)
  • National liberty museum A highlight of this museum is the extraordinary collection of glass art by sculptors from all over the world. Philadelphia (US)

Australian artists

  • Clare Belfrage Axia modern art gallery profiles Belfrage's history and works.
  • Giles Bettison Axia modern art gallery profiles Bettison's work. Includes images and details of galleries where his works are held.
  • Scott Chaseling Contains images and a brief profile of artist Scott Chaseling.
  • Neil Roberts Provides information about Roberts, including exhibitions and a catalogue of his works.
  • Klaus Moje Contains images and information relating to Moje
  • Nick Mount Profiles of Mount's work and biographical details


For further information about any of these resources please contact the Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk

Coordinated by: EASS Academic Library Services Team