Architecture
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+architecture +environment
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +architecture +environment +solar
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Architecture
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| ARCH | Covers architects, architecture, building, interior design and landscape architecture and is produced by the Stanton Library, North Sydney Council | Online help available from search page |
| Art abstracts | Art Abstract database provides abstracting and indexing for over 400 international art publications, including periodicals, conference proceedings, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Topics covered includes a broad range of art topics such as advertising, archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, video, film, architecture and art history | Help and tutorials available from home page and search screen |
| Avery index to architectural periodicals | Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration | Help, tutorial and index available from search screen |
| APAFT Australian public affairs full text | APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text via Informit (1978-present) | Help and tutorial available from search page |
| Design and applied arts index | Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture,city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration | Help and support available from homepage and search screen |
Complete list of Architecture databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example Environment and design
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
Environment, setting, surroundings, location, situation, site, background
Design, plan, diagram, sketch, map, invention
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
environment* OR setting OR surroundings OR location OR situation OR site OR background
and
design OR plan OR diagram OR sketch OR map OR invention
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example Environment* finds Environment, environments, environmental, environmentally and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Intute : architecture and planning Search or browse the database of Architecture resources which have been selected, evaluated and described by subject specialists.
- In the mind of the architect Contains links to Australian and International architectural sites including professional associations.
- AECasia An architectural resource for the Asian region.
- Architexturez Includes discussion and information relating to design, art and architecture (US).
- Resources for medieval architecture Published by the Vassar College Art Library, this includes links to resources in medieval architecture.
- Vitruvio.ch Contains a range of architectural resources, including architectural periods, index of famous architects, women in architecture and a search facility.
- Voice of the shuttle: architecture Page Links to architectural resources, including architects, works, projects, journals, discussion lists, museums and libraries.
- Resources for Architecture Images and resources on architecture from the University of Navada.
- Bligh Voller Nield A leading architectural practice based in Australia with a broadly-based portfolio of award-wining projects.
- Government architect's office Chris Johnson is the NSW Government Architect and General Manager of the Building Design Services, in the NSW Department of Public Works and Services.
- The Cox Group Is an architectural firm covering a range of projects. The Group offers services in architecture, planning, urban design and interior design.
- Denton Corker Marshall Group Provides consulting services in architecture and landscape architecture project management to private individuals, companies, institutions and governments.
- Achille Castiglioni An Italian architect and industrial designer. This site is produced by the Museum of Modern Art.
- Alessi A US architecture firm.
- Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation Provides information about the Foundation's programs and is a developing resource for the inquiries on the legacy of architect Frank Lloyd Wright.
- VADS The Visual Arts Data Service image collection.
- Digital imaging project Contains art historical images of European and North American architecture and sculpture from Classical Greek to Post-Modern.
- NYPL digital gallery Provides access to over 363,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library.
- Architecture slide library (SPIRO) The visual online public access catalogue to the 35mm slide collection of the Architecture Visual Resources Library (AVRL) at the University of California at Berkeley.
- Buildingindex.com Can be used to locate Australian suppliers and products. Includes a useful links page.
- DesignWorkshop A commercial site selling three-dimensional modelling software for designers and architects.
- Infolink.com.au Profiles new and existing products in the design and the building industry.
- ReSources.Com Relied upon by industries, such as architecture, design, facilities and property management for access to contract interiors, industry products, services and information.
- Selector.com Directory of architectural, design, building & construction products, developed in conjunction with the Royal Australian Institute of Architects and the Design Institute of Australia.
- SpecSimple.com Provides manufacturing and product information for architects, interior designers, furniture dealers, facility managers.
- Australian Building Codes Board A joint initiative of Australian governments, responsible for developing and managing a uniform, national approach to building codes and building standards.
- Urban Ecology Australia Australia's only national, federal government recognised, community based, urban environmental organisation.
- Australian Institute of Architects AIA is the national body representing architects, it provides a wealth of knowledge and expertise to the architectural profession, governments and the public.
- Architecture.com The website of the Royal Institute of British Architects. Includes links to architectural websites and databases.
- ISO Online International Organization for Standardization is a worldwide federation of national standards bodies.
- Centre for design A multi-disciplinary team of researchers at RMIT, Melbourne, with backgrounds including architecture, industrial design, interior design, environmental science, engineering and arts.
- GSAP Online The Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation, Columbia University, New York, US.
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: EASS Academic Library Services Team