Art hazards
Starting point contains definitions, facts, figures and overviews
- Dictionaries help you to define your keywords
- Encyclopedias help you to get an overview of your topic and provide more information
than a dictionary
- Handbooks and manuals provide figures and facts
| ArtLex | ArtLex is a dictionary for artists, collectors, students and educators in art production, criticism, history, aesthetics, and education. It is a browsable collection of more than 3100 terms and definitions used in visual art, often accompanied by images. |
Use the catalogue
to search for more dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
You can search the Library Catalogue to find books, DVDs, journals and other materials
If you know the exact title in the New catalogue
- At the search screen select a Title search
- Type in the exact title. You can use double quotes around phrases, for example, “room with a view”
- Link to online material or take note of the collection, call number and status to find items in the Library
If you are searching for a topic in the New catalogue
- Type in keywords from your topic to find catalogue records that contain all of your keywords
For example,
+art +safety
- Use + before a word to indicate that the word must be included
- Another way of doing this is to combine keywords with AND (the AND must be in upper case)
- If a keyword search gives you too many results, you could add another keyword with +
For example, +art +safety +printmaking
Truncation is generally not needed as entering any version of a word will retrieve many variations.
More information
- For more information select the catalogue Help button
Databases and journal articles for Art hazards
Use databases to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers or
research reports
|
Databases |
Notes |
Help |
| Art Abstracts | Provides abstracting and indexing for over 400 international art publications, including periodicals, conference proceedings, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. | Help and tips are available from the Art Abstracts search screen and the EbscoHost Database Guide |
| Art Bibliographies Modern | Provides abstracting and indexing of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. The database covers the period from Impressionism in the late 19th century up to the most recent works and trends of the late 20th century. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present. | Help and tips are available from the CSA art Bibliographies Modern search screen and the CSA Quick guide |
| Design and Applied Arts Index | covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation abd product design | Help and tips are available from the CSA design and applied Arts Index search screen and the CSA Quick guide |
Complete list of Art databases. Also check the multidisciplinary databases as they cover a wide range of academic topics. You can select other subjects from the database subject list
Full text not available?
When the full text is not available, search for the journal title in the Library
catalogue to discover if print or online copies are available
Database search tips
- Define your topic and identify the main concepts involved
For example art and hazards
- Make a list of keywords for each concept
For example
art, artists, artisans
Hazard*, toxins, safety
- Think about how you can combine these keywords in your search using OR, AND or
NOT
Keywords on the same concept combine with an OR
Combine different concepts with an AND
For example
Art or artists or artisans
and
Hazard* or toxic or safety
- Appropriate truncation symbols can be used in databases to find variations of
a word, for example hazard* finds hazard, hazards, hazardous and so on
For help with searching databases see Connecting and Combining Search Terms or Truncation/Wildcards/Phrase searching: Basic or Online training or Ask the Library
It is important to critically evaluate all information you find particularly
information found on the web.
This is a starting list of internet sites. You may want to do your own searches
using
search engines
- Art and Creative Materials Institute International association widely recognized as the leading authority on art and creative materials. ACMI was organized to provide the public with non-toxic art materials for children and artists
- Art Materials Education Network AMIEN is a resource for artists which aims to provide "the most comprehensive, up-to-date, accurate, and unbiased factual information about artists’ materials"
- Art materials –health and safety The Company, Dick Blick Art Materials, uses ACMI guidelines to provide art and craft materials for children and artists that are nontoxic.
- Health and safety in the arts A searchable database of health and safety information for artists, including a section on mediums and another on safety techniques
For further information about any of these resources please contact the
Ask the Library service or ask at the library desk
Coordinated by: EASS ALS team